gsport Awards

Welcome to the gsport Awards page!
Caster Semenya is making a habit of winning on the gsport Awards stage, bagging her fourth SRSA gsport Athlete of the Year title at the 13th edition of the country’s longest running women’s sport awards.
Semenya, who also won Woman of the Year, was not on hand to receive the double accolade due to international competition, and asked Banyana Banyana coach, Desiree Ellis, to thank the public for their support, as she committed to keep representing South Africa with pride.

Fellow Commonwealth Games double gold medallist, Tatjana Schoenmaker, was also a big winner on the night, winning the Sasol Emerging Athlete of the Year while seasoned Paralympian, Zanele Situ, won Athlete of the Year with Disability.

Rising athlete, Gontse Morake walked away with School Sports Star of the Year presented by Gauteng Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation2017 Cricket World Cup semi-finalists, Momentum Proteas, bagged Team of the Year presented by Big Five Duty Free.

Glamorous SABC Sport broadcaster, Vaylen Kirtley, won the Estee Lauder Style Star of the Year.

Last year’s Woman of the Year, Mpho Makhoba, was also a double winner, taking home Special Recognition and Volunteer of the Year for her sterling efforts to raise the profile of women’s tennis in South Africa.

Travelling Momentum Proteas supporter, Shannon Landman-Kriel, was rewarded for her passion as a fan when she won Supporter of the Year.

Dedicated golf PR practitioner, Lali Stander, won the inaugural Woman in PR and Sponsorship award.

Leading SABC Sport anchor, Lebo Motsoeli defended her crown, once again winning Woman in TV.

Channel Africa’s Rachel Makhura was also a repeat winner in the Woman in Radio category while Frennie Shivambu, became the first photographer to win at the gsport Awards, taking home the Woman in Print award.

Sports activist and publisher, Cheryl Roberts, defended her Woman in Social Media title.


Long-time softball volunteer, Thelma Achilles, was inducted into the gsport Hall of Fame, for over 40 years of dedicated sports volunteerism.

Women’s hockey sponsor, Private Property, were crowned Sponsor of the Year while Golf RSA was named Federation of the Year, both for their ongoing efforts to raise the profile of women’s sport.

Champion disability sport coach, Karin le Roux, won the gsport Coach of the Year award.

2017 SPAR Grand Prix winner, Kesa Molotsane, won the gsport Public Choice Award, after securing the public vote.

The evening concluded with Minister of Sport and Recreation South Africa, Tokozile Xasa, honouring formidable women in sport in five Ministerial Recognition Awards.

The recipients were Rikenette Steenkamp, Saray Khumalo, Palesa Manaleng, Mbali Zantsi and Blanche Moila.

Recognised for excellence in sport in celebration of the Albertina Sisulu Centenary were five Special Recognition Awards received by Zanele Situ, Anrune Liebenberg, Kgothatso Montjane, Louzanne Coetzee and Natalie du Toit.

The gsport Awards is a partnership between the gsport Trust and SRSA, supported by M-Sports Marketing, TSO Productions, Vision View, Gauteng Sport, Sasol, SABC Foundation, Estee Lauder, Big Five Duty Free, WorldWide Sports, Nyapotse Inc, SABT Nexia and Red Bull.

Previous gsport Awards

The 2019 Momentum gsport Awards

Momentum ambassador, Ministerial recipient and Woman of the Year at the gsport Awards, Saray Khumalo, has reached incredible heights in her career, but her journey to the top has seen her endure many difficulties.

The 2018 gsport Awards

It’s usually a rush to push out as much gsport Awards red carpet coverage as soon as possible, but that was not the case this year. There was something different in the air.

The 2017 gsport Awards

Treble World Champion, Caster Semenya, bagged her third gsport Awards title when she was crowned gsport Athlete of the Year at the 12th edition of the country’s longest running women’s sport Awards.

The 2016 Spar gsport Awards

Rio Olympic gold medallist, Caster Semenya, has been crowned Athlete of the Year at the SPAR gsport Awards, as the class of 2016 winners were revealed at The Venue in Melrose Arch on Saturday night.

The 2015 Spar gsport Awards

Caroline Wostmann, who made history by becoming the fourth athlete ever to win the Two Oceans Marathon and the Comrades Marathon in the same year, has walked away with top honours at the 2015 SPAR gsport Awards.

The 2014 Spar gsport Awards

It is always interesting to see women who can balance between sport and being feminine. Zanele Mdodana walked away with Style Star Award at the ninth edition of the gsport Awards. Mdodana is a South African netball veteran and now an analyst on Supersport.

The 2013 Spar gsport Awards

The momentum that the gsport Awards are moving in is simply amazing considering that this is the 8th year of this prestigious event. The Sponsor of the Year award went to Momentum South Africa for the work that they do in promoting women’s cricket.

The 2012 Spar gsport Awards

One can compare speed at which the gsport Awards is growing in is almost the same as Caster Semenya’s who won the 2012 SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year award. Semenya is the South African Olympic’s silver medalist winner.

The 2011 gsport Awards

Yet another edition of the gsport awards proved women are working harder in this male dominated industry. Mellisa Reddy walked away with the Woman in Media award, for the amazing work she had done in sports broadcasting.

The 2010 gsport Awards

Showing massive growth in a space of just five years, the fifth annual gsport awards saw Sandy Flanagan walking away with the Sport Woman of the Year award. Flanagan is passionate about promoting women’s cricket.

The 2009 gsport Awards

Re-affirming the notion that women in sports also recognise class and style, Uyanda Mbuli walked away with the gsport Style Star award at the fourth annual gsport awards. Mbuli is one of Mzansi’s top style icons.

The 2008 gsport Awards

Seeing the growth of women in sports, the third annual gsport4irls awards honored Elana Meyer who became the gsport Hall of Fame inductee. Meyer is a former South African long distance runner who won a silver medal at the 1992 Summer Olympics.

The 2007 gsport Awards

No longer the new kid on the block, the second annual gsport awards showed its continued dedication to honouring deserving sports women, as Portia Modise walked away with the inaugural gsport Athlete of the Year Award on the day.

The Inaugural gsport Awards

The first of its kind, created solely to celebrate and promote women in sports, 1 August 2006 saw the birth of the gsport4girls awards at the Westcliff Hotel in Johannesburg, when 20 leading women in sport gathered to mark the occasion.