Map Unavailable

Date(s) - 10/04/2019
09:30 - 21:00

Kings Park Acquatic Club



The women reigned supreme on the second day of the SA National Aquatic Championships taking place at the Kings Park Aquatics Centre in Durban today.

Tshwane’s Tatjana Schoenmaker and Kaylene Corbett brought the crowd to their feet when they both clocked FINA Qualification times in the 200m breaststroke in 2:24.44 and 2:25.62, winning the gold and silver in the process, while the bronze went to Tailyn Seyffert in 2:32.85.

Nathania van Niekerk sprinted to a thrilling finish in the 200m backstroke, posting her first Qualification time of the Championships in 2:11.37, while Mariella Venter was a close second in 2:12.57 and Samantha Randle third in 2:16.85.

In the 50m butterfly, Erin Gallagher was in record breaking form winning the race with a new South African record time of 26.30, shedding 0.06secs off Lize-Marie Retief’s 2008 time of 26.36. The silver and bronze in the butterfly went to Tayla Lovemore in 26.63 and Hannah McLean-Leonard in 27.42.

Rebecca Meder just missed out on adding her name to the FINA World Championships Qualification list when she won the 200m freestyle in 2:00.82, just 2.16secs off the required 1:58.66. The silver medal was claimed by Dune Coetzee in 2:01.09 and the bronze by Marlies Ross in 2:04.44.

Michaela Kretzen (S14) claimed yet another gold medal in the 100m butterfly multi-disability event in 1:32.26, with the S1-13 gold going to Paralympian Alani Ferreira (S13) in 1:21.13.

Results Day 02

The SA National Aquatic Championships will continue today with the heats session starting at 09:30, while the finals will begin at 17:00 daily.

The staging of this event has been made possible through the support provided by Swimming SA partners, Sport and Recreation South Africa, SASCOC, National Lotteries Commission, Arena and Rand Water.

Qualifying Times – FINA World Championships – Day 02:

  • Erin Gallagher – 100m freestyle – 54.34
  • Tatjana Schoenmaker – 200m breaststroke – 2:24.44
  • Kaylene Corbett – 200m breaststroke – 2:25.62
  • Nathania van Niekerk – 200m backstroke – 2:11.37

Supplied by Swimming South Africa

Photo: Cheryl Roberts