Nominations are open for the 2016 gsport Awards, a five-week window calling for the public to nominate candidates across fourteen categories including Athlete of the Year, Athlete of the Year with Disability, Junior Athlete of the Year and Coach of the Year.

(Click here to visit the 2016 gsport Awards Nominations Page)

Minister of Sport and Recreation South Africa, Fikile Mbalula, said: “Over the years, the gsport Awards have grown to the benefit of women. Our partnering with these excellence recognition awards is part of our sport developmental agenda to see the playing field levelled, with equal opportunities to all.

“This year, again, the gsport Awards will be an event that celebrates and honours women in sport.”

(Click here to read the media release following the 2015 SPAR gsport Awards)

Having been recognised by Sport and Recreation South Africa in 2015, gsport continues to grow as it enters its second decade in existence, and features two new Award categories in 2016: Team of the Year; and School Sports Star of the Year.

gsport Founder Kass Naidoo said: “Team sports plays a big role in raising the profile of women’s sport, and it was certainly a category that was missing.

“And with a focus on school sport, we thought it important to introduce a category celebrating this age group.”

Once nominations close on 15 July, gsport’s 4-member judging panel will deliberate to determine the top three finalists in each category. Then the general public is invited to become gsport’s fifth and ‘public’ judge, casting their votes online at the gsport website to help choose the winners.

Nominations can be made at the gsport website (, or initiated via gsport’s social media channels, @gsport4girls on Facebook and Twitter. Nominations by email can be sent to

Winners will be announced at the 2016 gsport Awards in August.

Aimed at promoting South African women in sport, the annual gsport Awards has been running since 2006, when Atlanta Double Olympian gold medal winner Penny Heyns was inducted as the inaugural gsport Hall of Fame recipient 10 years after she became the first double Olympic gold medal winner for South Africa. 


The categories for which public nominations are being sought:

  1. Athlete of the Year
  2. Athlete of the Year with Disability
  3. Junior Athlete of the Year
  4. School Sports Star
  5. Team of the Year
  6. Coach of the Year
  7. Woman of the Year
  8. Woman in Media: Print
  9. Woman in Media: Radio
  10. Woman in Media: Social Media
  11. Woman in Media: Television
  12. 2016 Style Star
  13. Volunteer of the Year
  14. Supporter of the Year 


gsport seeks the following information supporting nominations:

  • Name and contact details of the person submitting the nomination
  • Name and contact details of the nominee
  • Which category the candidate is being nominated in
  • A few compelling reasons why the person being nominated should be considered for an award at the 2016 gsport Awards