Nominations for 2014 SPAR gsport Awards …

… are now closed!


Last year, South Africa’s greatest-ever Comrades Marathon runners, Frith van der Merwe, was inducted into the gsport Hall of Fame as Mapaseka Makhanya walked off with the 2013 SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year Award.

Last year’s winners were (from left) Woman in Media winner Lesedi FM sports presenter Dikeledi Makhongoana, 2013 Hall of Fame inductee, Comrades Marathon legend Frith van der Merwe, international rugby referee and incoming Woman of the Year winner, Marlize Jordaan; Sponsor of the Year winner Momentum SA represented by Charlene Lackay, Sports Federation of the Year winner, the Women’s Professional Golf Association of SA, represented by the association’s President Margie Whitehouse, 2013 Athlete of the Year with Disability winner Kgothatso Montjane, 2013 SPAR gsport Athlete of the Year, Mapaseka Makhanya, Special Recognition Award winner, Minister Fikile Mbalula represented by Blanche Moila, Volunteer of the Year winner Morizane Boyes, Up and Coming Athlete of the Year Award recipient Nathania van Niekerk, Coach of the Year Award recipient Dominique Philippopoulos, and 2013 Style Star, Minnie Dlamini.

Who will emerge with the trophies this year … ?

Awards Details:

  • [Closed Session: Judges decide on Award category finalists]
  • Public voting at From 12 noon on Wed 5 November to noon Wed 12 November
  • Winners Unveiled: At the SPAR gsport Awards, Mon 24 November, 2014
  • Official HashTag: #SPARgsportAwards

Thank you for your contribution!


Photo credit: Rebecca Hearfield / gsport