Western Province's Illse Davids (left) and Vida Ryan mix it with Southern Gauteng goalkeeper Leandri Janse van Rensburg and captain Marsha Marescia in the final of the 2011 Inter-Provincial Hockey Tournament, at the University of Free State in Bloemfontein on Saturday. Ryan scored a hat-trick as a part of an in-form Western Province charge to overcame a talented defending champions Southern Gauteng squad 4-3, after leading 3-2 at half-time. Photo: Peter Dowdle

The final of the SA Women’s Interprovincial Hockey Tournament went to Western Province with a 4-3 win over Southern Gauteng at the University of Free State in Bloemfontein on Saturday evening.

WP led 3-2 at half-time and were on balance deserved victors if only for the more complete style of play that produced a free-flowing brand of hockey that they put together in all five of the IPT matches.

The WP goals went to a Vida Ryan hat-trick and Jade Mayne while Southerns scored through a Pietie Coetzee hat-trick, the top IPT goalscorer.

WP played the best hockey at IPT and were deserved winners with some stunning goals in the final alone, while the world record goalscorer that is Coetzee was also in top form in the gold medal match.

As strange as it may seem considering Southern Gauteng’s two successive titles leading into this tournament, WP have long been the hoodoo team for Southerns in recent times, the Johannesburgers last beating them in the 2005 final in Pietermaritzburg.

Southerns have drawn with WP in a pool match and lost one in the last two years but never beaten them as the sides have been on different sides of the draw during the knockout stages.

Then there were the succession of defeats in the gold medals matches in 2006, 2007 and 2008.

The third place went to Northern Gauteng blues who beat KZN Coastal Raiders 2-1. Blues captain Kim Huback dedicated the win to goalkeeper Inke van Wyk who played in her last match after 20 successive IPT appearance over two decades.

The Durban girls were down to 12 players out of their 16-player IPT squad after a spate of injuries in the last two matches.

The Witwatersrand side were relegated to next year’s B Section after losing 4-0 to an on-song young Free State side who have a host of exciting talent in their midst.

The B Section final was won 3-0 by an impressive Amathole (Border) squad under the capable leadership of coach Greg Beling, manager Pat Smith and captain Cailin McClure. B Section finalists KZN Mynahs can reflect on a good IPT.


Results and Final 2011 Classifications of the SA Women’s Interprovincial Hockey Tournament in Bloemfontein on Saturday, 27 August, 2011:


A Section:

(1/2) WP 4-3 Southern Gauteng
(3/4) Northern Gauteng Blues 2-1 KZN Coastal Raiders
(5/6) North West 5 -1 Eastern Province
(7/8) Free State 4-0 Witwatersrand
* Witwatersrand relegated


B Section:

(1/2) Amathole (Border) 3-0 KZN Mynahs
(3/4) Free State B 3-3 Southern Cape (FS won penalty shootout 3-2)
(5/6) SA Country Districts A 6-0 SACD B
(7/8) KZN Inland 4-1 Mpumalanga
*Amathole (Border) promoted


Day 4 Results on Friday, 26 August, 2011:

A Section: Semi-finals:

Western Province 3-1 Northern Gauteng Blues
Southern Gauteng 2-1 KZN Coastal Raiders

Bottom 4 playoffs:

Eastern Province 2-2 Free State (EP won penalty shootout 3-2)
North West 1-1 Witwatersrand (NW won penalty shootout 2-1)

B Section: Semi-finals:

KZN Mynahs 1-0 Free State B
Amathole (Border) 5-1 Southern Cape

Bottom 4 Playoffs:

KZN Inland 0-0 SA Country Districts B (SACD B won golden goal)
SA CD A 0-0 Mpumalanga (SACD A won golden goal)


Day 3 Results on Thursday, 25 August, 2011:

A Section:

Northern Gauteng Blues 2-1 North West
KZN Coastal Raiders 3-3 Eastern Province
Western Province 3-1 Witwatersrand
Southern Gauteng 5-1 Free State

B Section:

Southern Cape 5-0 Mpumalanga
KZN Mynahs 2-1 SA Country Districts A
Amathole (Border) 9-0 SA Country Districts B
KZN Inland 0-0 Free State B


Day 2 Results on Wednesday, 24 August, 2011:

A Section:

Eastern Province 2-1 Witwatersrand
KZN Coastal Raiders 0-7 Western Province
Southern Gauteng 2-2 Northern Gauteng
North West 5-0 Free State

B Section:

SA Country Districts A 4-0 SA Country Districts B
KZN Inland 0-3 Southern Cape
Amathole (Border) 2-1 KZN Mynahs
Mpumalanga 0-6 Free State B


Day 1 Results on Tuesday, 23 August, 2011:

A Section:

Southern Gauteng 4-0 North West
Western Province 8-0 Eastern Province
KZN Coastal Raiders 5-0 Witwatersrand
Northern Gauteng Blues 1-0 Free State

B Section:

KZN Inland 2-0 Mpumalanga
Amathole (Border) 4-0 SA Country Districts A
KZN Mynahs 9-0 SA Country Districts B
Free State B 1-0 Southern Cape