Lotto Ladies Team pro cyclist Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (pictured in this file photo) leads a group of four Elite Women to represent South Africa at the UCI World Road Cycling Championships in Copenhagen starting Saturday. Moolman-Pasio is joined in Denmark by Cherise Taylor, Robyn de Groot and Joanna Van De Winkel.

The Elite Women to represent SA at the UCI World Road Cycling Championships to be held in Copenhagen from 19 to 25 September 2011 have been announced alongside the U23 Men’s team, while the Elite Men did not qualify.

Cycling SA has announced that Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio and Cherise Taylor will represent South Africa in the Road and Time Trial disciplines in Denmark, and that Robyn de Groot and Joanna Van De Winkel will ride for SA in the Road category.

The elite women have been campaigning in Europe as part of the race program launched two years ago, to learn and adapt to the racing lifestyle of that of the European teams.

Moolman-Pasio is permanently based in Aalst, Belgium, whilst riding for the Lotto Ladies Team during the 2011 season, and her compatriot Lotto Ladies Team teammates visit Europe on a rotational basis, to compete on the international circuit.

The ladies begin a five-week racing block to take them to the World Championships, starting tomorrow (Saturday 20 August) with the Trophée d’Or Féminin in France. Van De Winkel, Moolman-Pasio and de Groot feature in Saturday’s starting line-up.

The junior women’s selection process followed the same yardstick as in previous years, by gauging their results against our Elite Women on the local racing circuit. There are currently no junior women competing for podiums in local Elite Women’s racing.

The following riders have been selected to participate in the UCI World Road Cycling Championships to be held in Copenhagen, Denmark from 19 to 25 September 2011.


Women Elite:

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Road and Time Trial)
Cherise Taylor (Road and Time Trial)
Robyn de Groot (Road)
Joanna Van De Winkel (Road)