Banyana Banyana super-striker Noko Matlous (pictured, left) is the sole woman athlete up against Charl Schwartzel, Cameron van der Burgh, Cecil Africa and Hashim Amla for the 2011 SA Sports Star of the Year Award in Sun City on Sunday. SMS “Sport B” to 34760 before close of business on Friday to vote for Matlou. Photo: Chris Ricco/Backpagepix

South Africa is to reward the country’s most successful sports men and women for their outstanding efforts made on- and off the sporting field, at a night of glitz and glamour on Sunday.

Banyana Banyana star striker, and the first-ever South African to receive the coveted CAF African Footballer of the Year Award, Noko Matlou faces stiff competition as the only woman among five nominees for the public vote for the Sports Star of the Year award.

The winner of the Sports Star of the Year award will be decided by the public, who can vote by SMS or online on the SASCOC website. Nominees on this category:

A: Charl Schwartzel
B: Noko Matlou
C: Cameron van der Burgh
D: Cecil Africa
E: Hashim Amla


To vote for Noko Matlou to win the Sports Star of the Year, SMS the phrase “Sport B” to 34760, and you stand a chance to win a Toyota Yaris! To vote for one of the mens’ contenders, sms “Sport” followed by the letter representing that athlete.

Please note that Voting Rules set by SASCOC allow a maximum of 10 votes per cell phone, which are charged at R1.50 per vote, and the advice of SASCOC is that voting ends close of business on Friday, 19 August, 2011.

International celebrities such as Brandy, Vivica A Fox and Sugar Ray Leonard are expected to grace the event, which will be broadcast live on SABC 1 and SuperSport channel 204 at 8pm.

Briefing the media ahead of the event, Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula said the event is to say thank you to the outstanding sports men and women who work hard to keep the enthusiasm of sport alive in the spirits and minds of all South Africans.

Mbalula said the event will position the country’s sport landscape in a positive paradigm to successfully implement his department’s “Road Map into Optimal Performance and Functional Excellence” framework, that will shape and characterise sport and recreation discourse in South Africa.

The minister said they would also be hosting the awards to honour and recognise outstanding personalities, individuals and teams that against all odds have excelled since November 2009 to April 30 2011.

SA Sports Awards categories and nominees include:

Administrator of the Year: Daniel Jordaan, Nomsa Mahlangu, Pat Smith
Federation of the Year: SA Golf Association, SA Hockey Association, Swimming SA
Journalist of the Year: David Isaacson, Marjolein van der Stadt, Simnikiwe Xabanisa
Indigenous Games Star of the Year: Eastern Cape Intonga, Ingqathu KZN Team, Sifisa Hlekwayo
Sportswoman with a Disability: Emily Gray, Kgothatso Montjane, Natalie du Toit
Sportswoman of the Year: Noko Matlou, Pietie Coetzee, Sunette Viljoen