Delhi is the Passage to London

by | Feb 15, 2012

The Investec SA Women’s hockey team jet out to Delhi, India, this morning, in pursuit of London 2012 Olympic Games qualification. In this file photo, SA players celebrate a goal against Belgium, during the recent Investec Tri-Nations Series at the Randburg Hockey Stadium. Photo: Duif dDu Toit (Gallo)

The Investec South Africa women’s hockey team fly to Delhi, India Wednesday morning with one goal in mind, to win the Olympic Qualifier Tournament that takes place from this Saturday to next Saturday and in so doing book a place at the London 2012 Olympic Games that take place in July and August.

The six teams initially play in a round-robin or league, with the top two facing off in the final next Saturday.

First up, SA tackle Poland on Saturday at 10 am (6.30 am SA time) before meeting Ukraine at 2 pm (10.30 am SA time) on Sunday.

Monday is a rest day before captain Marsha Marescia’s girls face Italy at midday (8.30 am SA time) on Tuesday. The following league, or round-robin, game is against Investec South Africa’s biggest rivals, India, and that key match starts at 6 pm (2.30 pm SA time) next Wednesday.

After Thursday’s rest day, SA conclude the league phase next Friday when they meet Canada at 2 pm (10.30 am SA time).

The top two countries will then face each other in next Saturday’s 6 pm (2.30 pm SA time) final. The message is clear, nothing less than gold will do in Delhi.


Investec SA Olympic Qualifier Tournament Fixtures:

Sat, 18 Feb SA vs Poland
Sun, 19 Feb SA vs Ukraine
Tues, 21 Feb SA vs Italy
Wed, 22 Feb SA vs India
Fri, Feb 24 SA vs Canada
Final: Sat, Feb 25


Investec South Africa Team:

Mariette Rix (Western Province)
Kate Woods (Western Province)
Shelley Russell (Western Province)
Jade Mayne (Western Province)
Lauren Penny (Western Province)
Kathleen Taylor (Western Province)
Tarryn Bright (Western Province)
Marsha Marescia (capt) (Southern Gauteng)
Lisa Deetlefs (Southern Gauteng)
Bernadette Coston (Southern Gauteng)
Pietie Coetzee (Southern Gauteng)
Sanani Mangisa (Northern Blues)
Dirkie Chamberlain (Northern Blues)
Nicolene Terblanche (Northern Blues)
Kim Hubach (Northern Blues)
Lesle-Ann George (Free State)
Lenise Marais (KZN Coastal Raiders)
Sulette Damons (North West)


Share this article:

About the Author:


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts