Gauteng host WP in Cricket SA Provincial Final

by | Apr 9, 2013

2012 champions Northerns pictured after winning the CSA Womens Provincial League Final at SuperSport Park last year. 2012/13 championship contenders Western Province thrashed Northerns by 8 wickets to face Gauteng at the Wanderers in Saturday's final. Play will begin at 09:45. Photo: Duif du Toit / Gallo Images

Gauteng and Western Province booked their place in the final of the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Women’s Provincial League after the latter thrashed the defenceless defending champions, Northerns, by eight wickets and Gauteng dominated KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) with an emphatic 54-run victory.

Gauteng will host Western Province at the Bidvest Wanderers on Saturday, 13 April 2013.

In Cape Town, hosts WP won the toss and chose to field. A superior bowling attack led by Moseline Daniels saw the shocked visitors floundering on 18/4 in the ninth over. Northerns were bowled out for a sub-par 76 with Daniels claiming four wickets for 20, while Shabnim Ismail took 2/13 and Robyn Appels 2/20.

In reply, Magdaleen Mphahele and Suné Luus were the only wicket takers as Alexis le Breton (30*) shared an unbeaten 42-run, third-wicket partnership with Shandré Fritz (15) to make quick work of the chase.

In Johannesburg, Gauteng won the toss and chose to bat first against the ladies from Durban. It took 17 overs before Lungile Kwela got the breakthrough, removing Robyn Searle for seven. Kirstie Thompson shared a 50-run partnership with Savanna Cordes before she was trapped lbw by Dinesha Devnarain for 71 in the 33rd over.

Thompson went on to share another 50 partnership with captain, Cri-Zelda Brits (31*), before Devnarain struck once more to dismiss her for 71 as well.

Gauteng posted a daunting 216/7, including 23 fours and a six.

It was never going to be an easy chase for KZN and Gauteng were ruthless in their defence of their total. Chloe Tryon top scored with 45 from 62 while wickets tumbled around her. Thompson produced a remarkable all-round performance, taking with three for 26, while Jenna Bedford-Owen and Yumna Plowker took two wickets a piece to seal their well-deserved victory.


Share this article:

About the Author:


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Momentum Proteas Stars to Feature in WBBL Final
Momentum Proteas Stars to Feature in WBBL Final

Momentum Proteas captain and Adelaide Strikers’ Dané van Niekerk, alongside team-mate Laura Wolvaardt, will face all-rounder, Marizanne Kapp of Perth Scorchers in the Women’s Big Bash League final on Saturday in Australia

CSA Holds National Camp Ahead of Busy Summer
CSA Holds National Camp Ahead of Busy Summer

A mixed squad featuring Momentum Proteas players and rising stars from the High-Performance set-up convened at the Cricket South Africa Centre of Excellence in Tshwane for a week-long training camp