At no charge to its visitors, and allowing each visitor as many votes as they wish to promote their favourite sports Federation, the initiative is now open for online voting for 7 days, to determine the top Sports Federation of the Year, as voted for by anyone supporting women in sport.

As the clock winds down to the initiative’s 6th annual Awards, gsport Founder and Editor Kass Naidoo, said: “We decided to introduce the Sponsor of the Year and Sports Federation of the Year awards to show appreciation for the increased effort being made to raise the profile of women’s sport.”

Based on the number of reports published per sports federation on the gsport website over its six years of operation, the federations up for the 2011 Federation of the Year Award are Surfing, Cycling, Cricket, Hockey, Golf, Football, Athletics, Netball, Rugby and Tennis Associations.

Voting at the website started at 6 pm on Friday, 15 July, and will be open 24 hours a day for the following seven days, to allow supporters of women in sport to decide their favourite sports code.

“There has been good work done by federations and sponsors in promoting women’s sport. We look forward to honouring the most popular South African sports federation, voted for by anyone supporting women in sport, for its contribution to the cause.”

From Monday, visitors to the gsport website will also be able to nominate an individual of their choice for the Volunteer of the Year award, and stand a chance of attending the 2011 gsport Awards along with the Volunteer they nominated, if their nominee wins!

The gsport Volunteer of the Year award has been awarded each year since 2007, and gsport has paid tribute to some outstanding individuals who are leading by example in their communities.

The 2011 gsport Awards, which lauds the valuable contribution of individuals to the promotion of women in sport in South Africa, takes place on Monday, 1 August 2011, at the prestigious Wanderers Club in Johannesburg.

Follow all the action in the build-up to the event on, and