Heather and Tarryn in Season Wins

Heather Clark placed third in the Billabong’s final ‘Girls Get Out There’ Surf event’s Open Women’s division on Sunday, securing enough points to narrowly beat Tarryn Chudleigh into second place in the season’s rankings.

Heather Clark placed third in the Billabong’s final ‘Girls Get Out There’ Surf event’s Open Women’s division on Sunday, securing enough points to narrowly beat Tarryn Chudleigh into second place in the season’s rankings.

Heather Clark (Port Shepstone) and the Kommetjie pair of Tarryn Chudleigh and Holly Armstrong clinched the prestigious series titles in the respective Open, Pro Junior and U15 divisions of the Billabong ‘Girls Get Out There’ Summer Surf Series, after another day of great surfing at the final event in Scottburgh on Sunday.

Warm sunshine, light winds and excellent one to 1.3 metre waves produced the ideal platform for the country’s top female surfers to strut their stuff while their counterparts on the beach reveled in the festival activities.

Clark secured the Open title by the narrowest of margins when she placed third in the final behind WQS campaigner Tammy-Lee Smith (Chaka’s Rock), whose explosive forehand attack and powerful carves off the top and bottom of the waves earned her the R8,000 winner’s cheque, and 1 300 ratings points in the 4A rated event.

Stacey Guy (Melkbosstrand) took second in the final to finish the series rated third, while Chudleigh failed to reach the final for the first time, placing fifth overall and securing just enough points to grab the runner-up spot in the series ratings.

Chudleigh also held on to top the ratings in the Pro Junior division, despite slipping to fourth place in that final. Heidi Palmboom from the Bluff was on fire in Sunday’s final, clinching her first U20 title and vaulting into second place in the ratings ahead of Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbosstrand).

Sarah Baum, 14, from Athlone Park just South of Durban was the star performer on the final day, performing aerial manoeuvres at will to take second place in the Pro Juniors, fourth in the Open division and also grabbing the Von Zipper Expression Session title.

Bianca Buitendag (George) and Alice McGregor (East London), who had earlier upset the formbook by eliminating Rautenbach and Kommetjie’s Lisa Mace in their semifinal, took second and third respectively in the Pro Junior final.

Armstrong, the U15 ratings leader going into the final event, duly wrapped up the series title by winning the event although she was pushed all the way in the final by runner-up Cara McDonald (East London), who also overtook Tanika Hoffman (Kommetjie) for second place in the season-ending ratings.

It was tiny Chanelle Botha, 11, from Warner Beach who caused the upset of the division by tying first with Armstrong in their semifinal to eliminate established campaigners Heather Klug and Sabrina Scott, before going on to finish third ahead Hoffman in the final and earning the Kustomised Kreative award for the best performance by a local girl.

The Novices division was won by Inge McLaren (East London) who participated in all three of the free ‘Learn to Surf’ sessions over the weekend, and then defeated local girls Jordyn Vanhoutte, Demi Mason (both Warner Beach) and Janelle Rademeyer (Scottburgh) who finished in that order in the final.

Meanwhile those on the packed beach filled the ‘Learn to Surf’ and Soft Lips Yoga sessions, participated in the beach games and promotions for Seventeen Magazine, FNB and Tropitone and produced several excellent Marine Themed canvases with the winners taking home underwear for a year courtesy of Girl Inc.

The R110 000 Billabong ‘Girls Get Out There’ Summer Series started in Margate and then moved to Jeffreys Bay during December before visiting Cape Town earlier this month and concluding in Scottburgh.

Results of the Billabong ‘Girls Get Out There’ Summer Surf Series
Event # 4 (of 4) Scottburgh (KZN South Coast)
Open Women
1.  Tammy-Lee Smith (Chaka’s Rock) R8,000
2.  Stacey Guy (Melkbosstrand) R3,600
3.  Heather Clark (Port Shepstone) R2,400
4.  Sarah Baum (Athlone Park) R2,000
=5.  Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie) R1,200
=5.  Sarah Maritz (Warner Beach) R1,200
=7.  Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbosstrand) R800
=7.  Bianca Buitendag (George) R800
Pro Junior (U/20) Girls
1. Heidi Palmboom (Bluff) R4,000
2. Bianca Buitendag (George)
3. Alice McGregor (East London)
4. Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie) R1,000
U/15 Girls (All received Billabong vouchers)
1.  Holly Armstrong (Kommetjie) R1,000
2.  Cara MacDonald (East London) R 700
3.  Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach) R 500
4.  Tanika Hoffman (Kommetjie) R 300
Novices (All received Billabong vouchers)
1.  Inge McLaren (Nahoon, EL) R 500                                    
2.  Jordyn Vanhoutte (Warner Beach) R 300
3.  Demi Mason (Warner Beach) R200
4. Janelle Rademeyer (Scottburgh) R100
Von Zipper Expression Session
Sarah Baum (Athlone Park)
Kustom Kreative Award
Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach)
2007/8 Billabong ‘Girls Get Out There’ Summer Surf Series
Final Series Ratings
Open Women
1.  Heather Clark 3475
2.  Tarryn Chudleigh 3465
3.  Stacey Guy 3435
Pro Junior (U20)
1.  Tarryn Chudleigh 3520
2.  Heidi Palmboom 2890
3.  Chantelle Rautenbach 2810
Under 15
1.  Holly Armstrong 3860
2.  Cara MacDonald 3140
3.  Tanika Hoffman 3120
Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us