Mimi Mthethwa has been re-elected President of Netball South Africa. Photo: Supplied

At the annual Netball South Africa Annual General Meeting held in Pretoria on Saturday, Mimi Mthethwa of KwaZulu Natal held on to her position as President.

Mthethwa won with a majority vote against rivals Nompumelelo Javu of the Eastern Cape, and Kgapane Rrabotho of Gauteng Central.

“It’s back to the drawing board now. We have a lot of plans and ideas that we want to implement as soon as possible,” said Mthethwa.

“Elections were not a worry to us; we want to serve those who support us. We have a passion for netball and our country, and that is what makes us proud to be on the executive.”

Gauteng North's Blanche de la Guerre has retained her Vice-Presidents post. Photo: SuppliedAlso retaining her post is Vice-President Blanche de la Guerre of Gauteng North, who won the vote by a large margin of 70 ballots as opposed to 12 for Kgapane Rrabotho. Javu, who had originally been nominated, stepped down from the bid.

“The people and the council showed their confidence in us as leaders and we will not disappoint them,” said De la Guerre. “Our focus now is on club and technical development, as well as building relationships within schools netball.”

Mami Diale of Gauteng North, who has been praised by the President for gaining an increased number of netball regions during her post as Director Demarcations, will also continue in her position on the executive.

Director of Coaching, formerly held by Bennie Saayman of Boland (who has stepped down), will now be headed by Anneline Lewis of Gauteng West. Hanette Brewer of Bloemfontein, who was uncontested due to the withdrawal of NGS Umpire Joey Schoeman, maintains her position of Director Umpiring.

Despite campaigning for more than one position on the board, Mpumi Javu has lost her place as Director Selectors, to Christine du Preez of Ekurhuleni.