The team from the North West took the first centre pass and drew first blood, gaining an early, but short-lived lead after UWC quickly fought back with excellent shooting by goal shooter, Juambuajie Zauana. By the end of the quarter, NWU managed to regain their lead to end the first quarter 18-13.

Both teams seemed to put up more of a defensive effort early in the second quarter. In the previous two rounds NWU’s defence wasn’t really tested, but tonight saw UWC threaten to stretch the North-West University’s resilience. But under the goal post, Zauana took almost every feed and rebound. Although not as fiery as we have seen previously, NWU worked well to maintain their five-point lead at half time with the score standing at 37-32.

The second half started with both teams converting their centre passes. Three minutes in, the first power play was called in which both teams scored two double-pointers taking the score to 43-40. Shortly after the power play, hard-working UWC goal keeper, Savannah Kasner was replaced by Esli Triegaardt due to injury. With just less than three minutes remaining, the second power play was called. The hooter seemed to be a wake-up call for the NWU as they took off and scored 12 points to their opponents’ 2, extending their lead to 68 goals to 49. The quarter ended with a three-player collision and the score at 70-49.

Seconds into the final 15 minutes, UWC reached the 59-goal mark. NWU started with their attack flowing well and their defence limiting their opponents’ passing options. They continued their hard work to take the 93-61 win.

FNB Player of the Match: Romé Dreyer (NWU)
Samsung Shot of the Match: Sigrid Burger (NWU)
Wimpy Moment Maker: Gailynn Potts (UWC)

 Sigi Burger, Jessica du Plessis, Claudia van den Berg, Kamogelo Moiloe, Romé Dreyer (C), Nicole Amiras, Olerato Molapo, Nicolene van Heerden, Monique Reyneke (VC), Didintle Keebine, Leonie Maree, Caitlinn Rousseau

UWC: Jaumbuaije Zauana (VC), Vendjihonga Katjaimo, Gailynn Potts, Cindy Amsterdam, Heike Swartz, Keesha van Schalkwyk ©, Akhona Faye, Wilmedine Boer, Alicia Pieterse, Savannah Kasner, Esli Triegaardt, Nthabiseng Sibeko