SA Hockey’s 2014 World Cup Campaign Begins

by | Sep 6, 2013

SA Hockey Association logoThe South African Hockey Association has released the names of the players who will represent South Africa at the Africa Cup of Nations in Nairobi, Kenya from September 26 to October 5, the winners qualifying for the 2014 World Cup in The Hague, Netherlands in May/June next year.

The SA women are the defending champions, having won the last event in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe in September 2011.

The six women’s teams who have entered are South Africa, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Namibia and Tanzania.

Six players who represented the Investec South Africa women’s team at the Investec World League semi-finals in London in June have been omitted for various reasons, including the unavailable Southern Gauteng superstars Pietie Coetzee and captain Marsha Cox.

The other players left out are goalkeeper Phume Mbande of Northern Blues, defender Nicolene Terblanche (NB), midfielder Tarryn Bright (Western Province) and striker Dirkie Chamberlain (NB).

World Cup 2010 goalkeeper Hanli Hattingh is back, while London 2012 Olympians Bernie Coston and Lisa Deetlefs return after injury. Christine Roos and Celia Evans are also back in the team, while Kaila Flemming makes her debut.


SA Women’s Team:
Sanani Mangisa (SG)
Hanli Hattingh (WP)
Lenise Marais (KZN Raiders)
Marcelle Keet (Border)
Lisa Deetlefs (SG)
Illse Davids (WP)
Celia Evans (NW)
Shelley Russell (WP)
Kaila Flemming (SG)
Quanita Bobbs (WP)
Sulette Damons (NW)
Christine Roos (NB)
Jade Mayne (WP)
Bernie Coston (SG)
Tanya Britz (FS)
Lilian du Plessis (NB)
Izelle Lategan (FS)
Kelly Madsen (KZN Raiders)

(With editing by gsport)


Share this article:

About the Author:


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts