Tarryn Chudleigh continued her phenomenal run of success in Margate when she beat a host of the country’s top female surfers to win the open division of the Billabong “Girls Get Out There’ Surf Series event in testing one to 1.5 metre (3-5 foot) onshore surf on Tuesday.

Scroll down to check out the fun pictures at the end of this report. 

It was the third consecutive victory for the 16 year national junior team surfer from Kommetjie on the Cape Peninsula who pocketed R5 000 by relegating multiple SA women’s champ Tamarys de Maroussem (Westbrook) to the runner-up spot.

Scroll down to check out the fun pictures at the end of this report. Stacey Guy (Melkbosstrand) took third place in the 3A rated, R12 500 Pro Surf Tour event with Nikita Robb (East London) placing fourth in the final after she and de Maroussem had eliminated top seed and defending GGOT champion Sarah Maritz (Warner Beach) in their semi-final encounter.

The final day of the festival of female surfing action was a holiday-makers dream with the temperature soaring to 30 degrees in bright sunshine and a pleasant onshore breeze that saw the beach packed to capacity as girls of all ages flocked to the free learn-to-surf and yoga sessions at the event.

It was far tougher for the surfers who battled to paddle out through the overhead surf but were rewarded for their efforts with great waves on the outside. International campaigner Tammy-Lee Smith (Salt Rock) made good use of her superior fitness to clinch the title in the R5 000 Pro Junior (U20) event.

With Chudleigh surprisingly sidelined in the semis, Smith recorded 6.75 and 4.25 point rides for an 11.0 point heat total that was too good for 13 year-old rising star Sarah Baum (Athlone Park) who took the runner-up spot ahead of opening day standout Nicole Annells (Warner Beach) and Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbosstrand).

0 Alice McGregor confirmed her status as the top U15 in the country, earning the highest scoring ride of all four finals – a 7.5 pointer – and winning every heat she contested including the final. The Kommetjie duo of Tanika Hoffman and Holly Armstrong placed second and third followed by Morag Steele (Somerset West).

And tiny nine year-old Chanelle Botha (Warner beach ) made light of the difficult conditions to snatch the Novices crown in a tight duel with Annie de Vries (Umhlanga), Jessica Swart (Durban) and Courtney Ellish (Amanzimtoti), who finished in that order with just 1.5 points separating first from fourth.

The Best Kustomised Manoeuvre award for the best performance by a local surfer went to Chanelle Botha while Chantelle Rautenbach was adjudged to have performed the most radical top turn in the expression session and received the Most Creative Award.

The whole festival closed on a high note when the four large marine themed canvasses that dozens of participants from 5 to 50 had added their mark to over the two days were auctioned off, raising a substantial R2 500 in a frenzy of excited bidding.

13-year old Sarah Baum demonstrated things to come by placing second in the Pro Junior U20 event. This initiative, a collaboration between Billabong and the WWF, will fund the purchase of tracking devices for turtles which were the subject of a highly successful awareness campaign at the event conducted by Cloverley Lawrence from Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife.

The Billabong ‘Girls Get Out There’ Summer Surf Series is sanctioned by Surfing South Africa and proudly supported by Soft Lips, Liqui Fruit, First National Bank (FNB), Von Zipper, Kustom, Silver Bullet and Interstage and is presented by Nashua Mobile.

The series started in Durban in September and after Margate continues with a Fun Day in Jeffreys Bay on 17 December before concluding in Cape Town on the weekend 3 & 4 February 2007.

Billabong ‘Girls Get Out There’ Surf Series Event #2 of 4
Resuts, Margate, KZN South Coast:

Open Women
1.  Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie) R5 000
2.  Tamarys de Maroussem (Westbrook) R3 000
3.  Stacey Guy (Melkbosstrand) R1 500
4.  Nikita Robb (East London) R1 000
=5.  Sarah Maritz (Warner Beach, KZN) R600
=5.  Tammy-Lee Smith (Salt Rock, KZN) R600
=7.  Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbosstrand) R400
=7.  Leslee Salzmann (Kloof) R400

Pro Junior (U/20) Girls
1. Tammy-Lee Smith (Salt Rock, KZN) R2 000
2. Sarah Baum (Athlone Park) R900
3. Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbosstrand) R600
4. Nicole Annells (Warner Beach) R500
=5.  Heidi Palmboom (Bluff) R300
=5.  Nikita Robb (East London) R300
=7.  Tarryn Chudleigh (Kommetjie) R200
=7.  Michelle Imeson (Warner Beach) R200
U/15 Girls
1.  Alice McGregor (East London) R1 000
2.  Tanika Hoffman (Kommetjie) R700
3.  Holly Armstrong (Kommetjie) R500
4.  Morag Steele (Somerset West) R300

Novices (All received Billabong hampers)
1.  Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach)                                   
2.  Annie de Vries (Umhlanga)
3.  Jessica Swart (Durban)
4. Courtney Ellish (Amanzimtoti)

Best Kustomised Manoeuvre
Chanelle Botha (Warner Beach)

Most Creative Award
Chantelle Rautenbach (Melkbosstrand)