UWC Crowned 2023 Women’s Varsity Football Champions

University of the Western Cape defeated University of Johannesburg to regain the Women’s Varsity Football title they won in 2021, on Saturday, 19 August 2023.

Four minutes into the final, UWC’s Lonathemba Mhlongo delivered a perfect free kick to put her team into the lead, which they held onto until the halftime break.

In the 58th minute, UWC extended their lead after Katlego Mabuza beat the opposition goalkeeper from a well-fed through ball.

A clinical 2-0 victory over defending champions University of Johannesburg saw UWC regain their trophy they won in 2021.

Bongeka Gamede of UWC was awarded as player of the match after the played in instrumental game.

UJ’s Lusanda Mavundla collected the Suzuki Golden Boot award as the she was named the top goalscorer of the tournament.

While UW’s keeper Siphesihle Dlamini as well as UJ’s shotstopper Matshidiso Masebe both won the Cashbuild Golden Glove award for their efforts in the goalbox.

Lusanda Mavundla was also voted the FNB player of the tournament for the brilliant performances during the campaign.

Photo 1 Caption: Congratulations to UWC for being crowned the 2023 Women’s Varsity Football Champions.

Photo: Varsity Football (Twitter)

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us