2017 gsport Public Choice Award Launched

gsport has announced the introduction of the Public Choice Award, which will be bestowed on the Award’s first-ever recipient alongside the winners of the 2017 gsport Awards, on Saturday, 26 August.

This new Award seeks to reward a #gsport12 Finalist who captured the public imagination and wins the largest public vote across all categories, without winning an Award.

In a fitting gesture to the incredible support of the #gsport12 Finalists, the Award will be handed over by a member of the public who has cast the most number of votes on the gsport website.

The announcement comes as cloaked voting has been introduced at the 2017 gsport Awards Voting Hall on Monday 31 July, ahead of the final week of voting for #gsport12 Finalists, which closes at noon on Monday, 7 August.

No voting results will be visible in the Voting Hall, to ensure that the public voting results are not known in advance of the announcement of winners on the Awards night.

While the gsport Awards Judges are instrumental in deciding Awards winners, the introduction of the 2017 gsport Public Choice Award is a first step towards honouring the community supporting the Finalists.

As before, public voting at the gsport website constitutes the 5th Judge, who’s votes are counted alongside those cast by gsport’s 2017 Panel of Judges of Uyanda Mbuli, Lebo Motsoeli, Pietie Coetzee and Zanele Mdodana.

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us