CGLioness Squad Receive Professional Contracts and Naming Rights Sponsor

Central Gauteng Lions Cricket CEO, Jono Leaf-Wright, officially announced that the Lioness players have received contracts ahead of the new season.

Today’s announcement by CGL comes seven years after the first-ever national contracts were introduced by CSA and Momentum.

CGL have joined the cause to help professionalise and further advance the women’s side of the game.

Imperial have also shown their support, securing the naming rights for the Central Gauteng Lions Senior Women Provincial Team as well as the Women Saturday Premier League and Presidents League Club Cricket.

The extended partnership will go towards the much needed development of women’s cricket and the Senior Women Provincial Team will now be known as the ‘Imperial Central Gauteng Lions Women’. The Women Saturday Premier League and Presidents League Club Cricket will be known as the Imperial Women Saturday Premier League and Presidents League.

“At Imperial, our passion for the competitive and collective spirit sport embodies is matched by our passion for empowerment and diversity,” says Imperial Group CEO, Mohammed Akoojee.

“This partnership aptly captures both of those passions and we are accordingly proud to be the part of the journey of these talented and inspiring women.”

“The extended partnership reaffirms the commitment by both parties to not only create passion for cricket across all genders, equality but use the sport as a vehicle to drive social change and economic development” commented Central Gauteng Lions CEO Jono Leaf-Wright.

“As the Union, we are truly honoured for the extended the partnership that will go towards the much needed women pipeline structures” concludes Leaf-Wright.

The women’s senior provincial side has also kept the core of their team which includes 2020 ICC T20 World Cup semi-finalist, Ayabonga Khaka, the talented Raisibe Ntozakhe and the exciting talent of Robyn Searle who is the latest CGL women’s player to be selected for the CSA women’s academy.

The team has bolstered their side with the additions of two talented young players, Kelebogile Sechabela and Emihle Mabilokazi who impressed at Junior Cricket levels for CGL.

CGL Senior Provincial Women’s Squad:

Kirstie Thomson
Sharne Mayers
Robyn Searle
Jenna Searle
Nonkululeko Thabethe
Bianca Booyjens
Palesa Mapoo
Paballo Tshidi
Kgomotso Rapoo
Marlene Grieb
Louise Kemp
Louise Impey
Ayabonga Khaka
Traci Brest
Yolani Fourie (c)
Kelebogile Sechabela
Alysia Rudolph
Jameelah Shaikjee
Lehlohonolo Sardick
Oluhle Siyo
Raisibe Ntozakhe
Refilwe Moncho
Emihle Mabilokazi

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us