De Groot Claims Debut SA MTB Champs Title

by | Jun 3, 2013

Cycling SA logoLondon Olympic road cyclist Robyn de Groot is making good on her recent decision to make the swap to mountain biking, winning the elite women’s 73km race at the 2013 Mountain bike marathon national champions in perfect Lowveld winter weather conditions at Induna Adventures in Hazyview, Mpumalanga, on Saturday.

De Groot put on a solid performance to take the victory in 3 hours 33 minutes and 56 seconds. Local Lowveld rider Samantha Sanders (Valencia) crossed the line in second place (03:38:25) with cross-country Olympian Candice Neethling (BMC-SA) rounding out the podium less than a minute behind (03:38:57).

National championship titles were up for grabs across all the age categories, for the main elite event, as well as for the junior, youth, sub veteran, veteran, and masters events. All categories cycled on the same route, although the distances were altered to provide the correct race route for the various categories.


Leading Results at the 2013 SA National MTB Marathon Championships:
Elite Women: Marathon 73km (EW):
1. Robyn de Groot 03:33:56
2. Samantha Sanders 03:38:25
3. Candice Neethling 03:38:57
Youth Women (15-16 years) 36km (YW):
1. Genevieve van Coller 01:45:16
2. Ame Venter 02:03:25
3. Mandie Swart 02:12:10
Junior Women (17-18 years) 36km (JW):
1. Jessica Alcock 01:57:21
2. Danielle Rheeder 01:59:01
3. Kirsten Gillespie 02:00:55
Sub Veteran Women (30-39 years) 73km (SXL):
1. Laura Herd 04:20:41
2. Nadine Klopper 04:22:15
3. Dorothy Rood 05:12:22
Veteran Women (40-49 years) 73km (VWL):
1. Cindy Rebello 04:17:04
2. Wendy Dippenaar 04:35:49
3. Vanessa Record 05:55:33
Master Women (50-59 years) 36km (MWM):
1. Pauline Cound 01:58:50
2. Elizabeth Delport 02:05:52
3. Heidi de Bruin 02:16:26


(With editing by gsport)

Share this article:

About the Author:


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts