Investec SA Eye Africa Cup Stepping Stone

by | Nov 12, 2013

The South African Hockey Association has released the names of the players who are due to represent South Africa’s in the Africa Cup of Nations hockey tournament in Nairobi, Kenya, from 18 to 23 November.

The tournament, a 2014 Hockey World Cup qualifier event, was postponed from its original dates (26 September to 5 October) due to the terrorist attack in the east African city.

OUT: Injured Sanani Mangisa misses out on the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations, after suffering a torn Achilles tendon and undergoning surgery. Photo: Afsar Beg The Investec South Africa women’s hockey team sees one change from the side originally announced, said head coach for the tournament, Fabian Gregory, with Northern Blues goalkeeper Phume Mbande replacing Southern Gauteng’s Sanani Mangisa, who suffered a torn Achilles tendon and has undergone surgery.

The national team that win the Africa Cup next week will qualify as the continent’s representatives for the 2014 Women’s Hockey World Cup, the four-yearly showpiece due to be held in The Hague, Netherlands, from May 31 to June 15 next year.

The SA team is the reigning African champions, having won the last biannual event in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe in September 2011, and this year the Africa Cup women’s tournament will be played on a one-round league format, with the top two teams playing in the final next Saturday.


Investec South Africa Fixtures at the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations Hockey Tournament, in Nairobi, Kenya, from 18 to 23 November (SA times):
Mon 18 Nov (11am): SA vs Kenya
Tue 19 Nov (11am): SA vs Ghana
Thu 21 Nov (9am): SA vs Tanzania
Fri 22 Nov (12pm): Bronze medal match
Sat 23 Nov (12pm): Gold medal final
Investec South Africa:
Hanli Hattingh (WP)
Phume Mbande (NB)
Lenise Marais (co-capt, KCR)
Marcelle Keet (co-capt, Border)
Lisa Deetlefs (SG)
Illse Davids (WP)
Celia Evans (North West)
Shelley Russell (WP)
Kaila Flemming (SG)
Quanita Bobbs (WP)
Sulette Damons (NW)
Christine Roos (SG)
Jade Mayne (WP)
Bernie Coston (SG)
Tanya Britz (Free State)
Lilian du Plessis (NB)
Izelle Lategan (FS)
Kelly Madsen (KCR)
Head coach: Fabian Gregory

(With editing by gsport)


Share this article:

About the Author:


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts