New Leagues for IPT Season

by | Oct 12, 2007

 Cricket South Africa has announced its revised fixtures and playing formats for the 2007-08 Inter-Provincial Cricket Leagues (Women’s Cricket Inter-Provincial Fixtures 07-08), in advance of the six commencing matches taking place on Saturday, this weekend.

Starting a week later than the previous year’s season, defending champions Western Province take on KwaZulu-Natal at home, while runners-up Boland enjoy a bye before their away-encounter against Easter Province in Port Elizabeth, on October 20.

The inclusion of Easterns as the league’s fourteenth team necessitated the revision of fixtures and playing formats, and the new format was agreed on at the recent Cricket Development Workshop, in July 2007.

In advance of the inaugural “Super League” and “Shield” competitions, each team plays an initial round of one match against each other in two preliminary pools, and ranked in a combined log according to their results.

The top six teams on the log will progress to the Super League Competition, while the remaining eight teams resume hostilities in the Shield League Competition.

The respective competition’s season winners will be decided by the points allocation in accordance with the existing Playing Conditions match system, which provides that the points earned by each team in the initial pool stage will be added to those they gain in the Super League and Shield competitions, to form the final logs.

Super League teams will each play each other in a single round of matches, at the conclusion of which the team with the highest number of points will be declared the Super League Champions.

In the Shield Competition, qualifying teams will all play cross-pool matches on days One to Four, to determine the Play Off fixtures for day Five, and at the conclusion of the week, the team winning the first and second place Play Off fixture will be declared Shield champs.

Once the season ends, a promotion and relegation system will allow the Shield League Competition’s winning team to be promoted to the Super League Competition, while the team ending last at the conclusion of the Super League Competition will be demoted to the Shield League Competition.

The following 2008/09 season will follow a “Strength versus Strength” policy, in terms of which a National Player who plays for a team which fails to qualify of the Super League will be eligible (but not forced) to represent another team within its franchise region which does qualify, for the sole purpose of this league.

The fourteen contestants will be divided into two pools as depicted in the table below:
Pool A (The “Coastal” Pool):
Eastern Province
KwaZulu-Natal Inland
South Western Districts
Western Province
Pool B (The “Inland” Pool):
Free State
Griqualand West
North West

pdf Women’s Cricket Inter-Provincial Fixtures 07-08 20.49 Kb

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts


Related Posts