New Zealand Squad Announced for Tour to South Africa

Canterbury Magicians batter Kate Anderson and Auckland Hearts all-rounder Bella Armstrong have earned their maiden call-ups to the New Zealand White Ferns for the upcoming tour of South Africa this month, just two years after receiving NZC Development contracts. 

In a step-change for the team, two separate 15-player squads have been selected for a tour that comprises three ODIs and five T20Is, starting 24 September.

Anderson’s selection follows her most successful professional season, which saw her named NZC’s Women’s Domestic Player of The Year and put her in line to tour Sri Lanka with the White Ferns in July, before she was ruled out with a finger injury.

The 27-year-old smashed a chart-topping 536 runs at an average of 59 in the Dream11 Super Smash, her run aggregate more than 100 clear of the next best female or male.

The 23-year-old Armstrong has been included for the T20I series only and will replace wicket-keeper Izzy Gaze, who will return home after the ODIs.

Armstrong’s powerful hitting and sharp fielding caught the selectors’ attention, as did her match-winning 71 runs off 34 balls against the Central Hinds in the Dream11 Super Smash last season.

Otago Sparks allrounder Hayley Jensen wasn’t considered for selection as she continues her rehabilitation from knee surgery in May.

The White Ferns assemble for a training camp at Tauranga’s Bay Oval from 10-14 September, before departing to South Africa on 17 September. 

Sophie Devine, Suzie Bates, Fran Jonas, and Maddy Green will not be in attendance due to pre-arranged contracts with franchise leagues.

The remainder of the squad is made up of familiar faces who have all experienced South African playing conditions this year courtesy of the ICC T20 Women’s World Cup and the ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup.

New Zealand White Ferns Squad | Tour to South Africa

Sophie Devine, Kate Anderson, Bella Armstrong, Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout, Eden Carson, Izzy Gaze, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Jess Kerr, Molly Penfold, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu

*Uncapped for the White Ferns


Thu 21 September:Warm-up 50-over, Willowmoore Park, Benoni, 8pm NZT 
Sun 24 September: 1st ODI, Senwes Park, Potchefstroom, 9pm NZT
Thu 28 September: 2nd ODI, Pietermaritzburg Oval, Pietermaritzburg, 8.30pmNZT
Sun 1 October: 3rd ODI, Kingsmead, Durban, 8.30pmNZT

Fri 6 October: 1st T20I, Buffalo Park, East London, 5.00am NZT +1
Sun 8 October: 2nd T20I, Buffalo Park, East London, 1.00am NZT +1
Tue 10 October: 3rd T20I, Buffalo Park, East London, 5.00am NZT +1
Sat 14 October: 4th T20I, Willowmoore Park, Benoni, 1.00am NZT +1
Sun 15 October: 5th T20I, Willowmoore Park, Benoni, 1.00am NZT +1

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us