Nicole Horwood smiles with her steed, Capital Don Cumarco, flanked by Miss SA Melinda Bam and Jessecca Perumal, GM: Marketing at Avis. Horwood produced the only clear round of the day to win the 2012 Avis at the Kyalami Equestrian Park on Sunday, 7 October 2012. Photo: Tamara Blake Images

Dubbed by many as the “best Derby ever”, the Avis SA Derby, driven by Volkswagen, was won this year by Nicole Horwood on Capital Stud’s Capital Don Cumarco, who produced the only clear round of the day.

This was a fitting victory for Capital Stud’s owner, Henning Pretorius, who gave off his time, expertise and equipment to assist the Kyalami Equestrian Park team get the main Bob Charter Arena into the best condition it’s been in for years.

Nicole Horwood wins the Avis SA Derby on Capital Stud's Capital Don Cumarco. Photo: Tamara Blake ImagesThe main event was tense and exciting, resulting in just one clear round. Anthea Erasmus from Western Province competing in her second Derby on Meerenhof Properties Calypso, came into the ring after two eliminations and three ‘two figure’ penalty scores to jump into the lead with just four penalties – a lead she kept until number 21, Jodi Pieters from KwaZulu-Natal on Capital Rafika D’Or, equalled her score.

Nicola Sime came close with just five penalties. Nicole Horwood was third last to ride and jumped a spectacular clear in what was her first ever Derby.

Congratulations must also go to Showjumping and Derby Legend, Gonda Betrix (winner of six Derbies), who is the coach to Nicole Horwood, Anthea Erasmus and Nicola Sime. She also produced the 1st to 4th places in the FNB Mini Derby held on Saturday.

This year the Gauteng Horse Society teamed up with events management company, G&G Productions, to produce an event that was a notch above anything done before. For the first time there was a full Retail and Food Village, and a Beer Tent to cater for needs of all who attended.


The 2012 Avis SA Derby Final Results:
1. Nicole Horwood on Capital Don Cumarco
2. Anthea Erasmus on Meerenhof Properties Calypso
2. Jodi Pieters on Capital Rafika D’Or
4. Nicola Sime on Sunny Park Stables El Paso
5. Paige Shiller on Midgard Glamour
5. Shaun Neill on Clyde Z
5. Rainer Korber on Leandros de Semilly