The Momentum Proteas came out in style in the fifth and final ODI at Cox’s Bazar in Bangladesh with the series already won, bowing the hosts out for 68 in the 37th over before chasing down the asking total in 10 overs, to win the series 4-1.

Odine Kirsten, Matshipi Marcia Letsoalo and Yolani Fourie took nine wickets between them, setting up a crushing eight-wicket victory for the Momentum Proteas women in their last One-Day International match against Bangladesh on Friday.

Click here to read the match scorecard on

Click here to visit the series home page on

Kirsten was the pick of the bowlers taking 4/10, with Letsoalo adding 3/13 and Fourie 2/22 to the tally.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, the hosts were skittled out for 68, with the top score of 13 coming from opener Sharmin Sultana.

Lizelle Lee then set up the South African reply, hitting an quick-fire 37 runs from 19 deliveries in an innings which included seven fours.

The asking total was reached by SA with contributions from Andrie Steyn (9 off 17 balls) Mignon du Preez (9* off 16 balls) and Chloe Tryon (13* off 8 balls), to round off a phenomenal performance by the Proteas.

This series win will go a long way in giving the team confidence as they look to dominate in the ICC Women’s World Cup qualifier tournament in Sri Lanka next month.

The match marks a memorable first win in charge for Dané van Niekerk, while honours on the day were shared with Odine Kirsten, who’s 4/10 won her the Player of the Match award, while Lizelle Lee’s series average of 53.6 saw her to a well-deserved Player of the Series award.


Bangladesh vs South Africa ODI Series (All matches played at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium, Cox’s Bazar):
12 Jan: SA win by 86 runs
14 Jan: SA win by 17 runs
16 Jan: Bangladesh win by 10 runs
18 Jan: SA win by 94 runs
20 Jan: SA win by 8 wickets


Momentum Proteas squad to Bangladesh:
Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province)
Suné Luus (Northerns)
Mignon du Preez (Northerns)
Moseline Daniels (Boland)
Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province)
Marcia Matshipi Letsoalo (Northerns)
Odine Kirsten (Northerns)
Lizelle Lee (North West)
Andrie Steyn (Western Province)
Yolani Fourie (Gauteng)
Ayabonga Khaka (Border)
Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal)
Sinalo Jafta (North West)
Lara Goodall (Western Province)


Photo 1 caption: The Momentum Proteas celebrate their 4-1 ODI series away win against Bangladesh. The 5-match series was organised to give the both sides match time ahead of the ICC World Cup Qualifier, in Sri Lanka in February. Photo: Supplied

Photo 2 caption: Coach Hilton Moreeng and Proteas captain Dané van Niekerk smile with the trophy after Friday’s emphatic win. The photo marks a memorable first win as skipper for van Niekerk. Photo: Supplied

Photo 3 caption: Odine Kirsten’s right-arm medium pace bowling was key in the Proteas’ 4th win on the road, her figures of 4/10 taking her team a long way towards the win in addition to winning her the Player of the Match award. Photo: @MdpMinx22 on Twitter

Photo 4 caption: In a contribution typical of her form in the series, Lizelle Lee (centre) clobbered 37 runs off 19 balls to speed the way for the Proteas’ win. Lee’s series average of 53.6 after 268 runs in five matches, and a series high-score of 87 runs off 71 balls in the opening ODI, saw her win the Player of the Series award. Lee is pictured with skipper Dané van Niekerk (left) and former captain Mignon du Preez. Photo: @zella15j on Twitter


With editing by gsport