Proud Bloemhof Win Again

Despite a strong challenge by hosts Oranje Meisieskool on Saturday, Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof showed their class and captured their seventh consecutive
Amanda Coetzer Challenge trophy in


The tournament favorites from Stellenbosch went 4-2 ahead after the singles. Only Oranje number one, Estelle Erasmus and Oranje number three Deone Zietsman won their matches for the hosts.

Erasmus overcame a strong challenge from Bloemhof’s Madelie Janse van Rensburg winning 6-4 7-6 (7-4) whilst in the battle of the number three players, Zietsman beat Elzanne Aspeling 6-3 6-3.

Bloemhof singles victories were recorded by Andrie Meiring, Menanteau Moolman, Johanie van Zyl and Dane Joubert.

In the doubles, Van Rensburg and Meiring clinched the Tie for the defending champions when they beat Franne Pieterse and Bernadette Du Toit, 6-1 6-0

“I am very proud of my team” said
Pietie Norval, former Davis Cup player, World Doubles champion and Bloemhof coach.

“It was a combination of hard work, dedication, focus and fantastic team spirit that allowed my team to pull through so impressively. Winning this title means the world to me, the players and the school. It is a trophy that holds such prestige within the tennis community of our country,” said Norval.

The tournament proved the strongest in the history of the event. Although Oranje fought well against Bloemhof they could only secure second spot behind the former champions. Oranje have ended second ever since the first tournament was held ten years ago.

Oranje stole second spot from Stellenbosch and Waterkloof who both went into the final day joint second on the log. Stellenbosch beat Waterkloof 19-5 in round four which gave them enough points to move into third spot alone.

Fourth place went to newcomers to the event Menlopark whose impressive win over Stellenbosch 19-5 in the final round gave them a higher point aggregate over former champions Waterkloof who finally ended in fifth position.


High School
ending last on the log.

The winning
Amanda Coetzer trophy was handed over to the Bloemhof captain Madelie Janse van Rensburg and coach
Pietie Norval by Nico and
Suska Coetzer parents of
Amanda Coetzer.
Final Results from the Amanda Coetzer Challenge;
Played at Oranje Meisieskool, Bloemfontein, between 24 and 27 May 2007:

Final points table:
1. HMS Bloemhof 88
2. Oranje MS 67
3. HS Stellenbosch 66
4. HS Menlopark 64
5. Waterkloof HS 48
6. Cradock HS 10

Round 5:
HMS Bloemhof bt Oranje MS 16-7
HS Stellenbosch bt Waterkloof HS 19-5
HS Menlopark bt Cradock HS 17-5

Round 4:
Oranje MS bt Cradock HS 21-1
HS Menlopark  bt HS Stellenbosch 15-7
HMS Bloemhof bt Waterkloof HS 19-3

Round 3:
HMS Bloemhof bt HS Stellenbosch 12-0
HS Waterkloof bt Cradock HS 11-4
Oranje Meisieskool bt HS Menlopark 11-7

Round 2:
HMS Bloemhof bt HS Menlopark 14-9
HS Stellenbosch bt Cradock HS 21-0
HS Waterkloof bt Oranje Meisieskool 14-10 

Round 1:
HMS Bloemhof bt Cradock HS 21-0
Oranje Meisieskool bt HS Stellenbosch 15-11
HS Menlopark bt HS Waterkloof 14-8  
Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us