Robb and Palmboom Clinch 2012 Surf Titles

by | May 29, 2012

All the 2012 SA Surfing Champions share the moment, (from left to right), Ladies U20 champion Heidi Palmboom, Ladies Open champion Nikita Robb, and men's winners Mikey February and Casey Grant. Photo: Alan van Gysen

The final day of the Billabong SA Champs was completed in 3 to 4 foot surf and light winds at Misty Cliffs on Sunday, where Western Province continued their undefeated series of victories at home by taking the prestigious Presidents Cup ahead of arch-rivals KZN Central.

Nikita Robb of Border retained her Open Women’s title and will leave for Europe this week R10,000 richer in the process. Robb beat Chantelle Rautenbach (Bol) into second with Tarryn Chudleigh (WP) third and Krystal Tavenor (Bol) fourth.

Heidi Palmboom (KZNC) is the new Under 20 Girls champion. She edged Tanika Hoffman (WP) into second place with Emma Smith (EP) and Nikita Kekana (SKZN) finishing third and fourth respectively.

Amongst the special category winners of the day, Nikita Kekana (SKZN) respresented the girls at the event by claiming the BuchuLife Performance Award and its R2,000 prize winnings.


The Presidents Cup Results:
1. Western Province – 43950
2. KZN Central – 38782
3. Eastern Province – 37418
4. Border – 36840
5. Boland – 35528
6. Southern KZN – 33990
7. Southern Cape – 24660
8. Zululand – 19736


To recap the event, the video highlights, blogging, results and all the world-class photography, go to the Billabong SA Champs event mini site.

The Billabong Facebook Fan Page also has results, imagery and video from the event Facebook, and supporters can also use the #billabongsachamps hashtag to track the event over the full four days at the Billabong Twitter feed.

Video highlights of the final day’s action can be found here.

All the heat results are available on the Surfing South Africa website.

The Billabong South African Surfing Champs is the premier Surfing South Africa event. Surfing South Africa is recognised by the South African Sports Confederation (SASCOC) as the governing body of the sport in South Africa.

Red Bull supported the Billabong SA Champs by supplying all contestants with energy throughout the event.


Share this article:

About the Author:

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts