SA Hockey Squad Named

The SA Hockey Association are pleased to announce the SA Women’s 2019/2020 Squad as coach Robin van Ginkel prepares for the next period of his reign.

The squad selected features 41 players that impressed selectors at the August IPT in Bloemfontein. The Final was contested by Northern Blues and Southern Gauteng, with tournament top player Celia Evans included in van Ginkel’s squad along with fiver of her teammates. A further three players that were exempt from the IPT for either medical or academic purposes are also included.

Although the immediate focus of the squad is the Olympic Games in Tokyo next year, there is an added focus on building a squad capable of competing in the build up to and including the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, the FIH Hockey World Cup and the Commonwealth Games in 2022.

Van Ginkel has continued his blend of youth and experience with the likes of Dirkie Chamberlain, Lisa Deetlefs, Lilian du Plessis and Quanita Bobbs in the squad, the youngsters will have players who have played in the biggest tournaments to look up to and learn from.

There are also a host of youngsters including Mishka Ellis, Edith Molikoe and Nepo Serage, who should they impress and make a final tournament squad, will be in line to earn their first caps for their country. What is certain is that it is an exciting time for the African Champions.


1 Kirsty Adams – North West
2 Stephanie Baxter – North West
3 Quanita Bobbs – Western Province
4 Kara Botes – Southern Gauteng
5 Casey-Jean Botha – Free State
6 Stephanie Botha – Western Province
7 Dirkie Chamberlain – Western Province
8 Isabella da Rocha – Southern Gauteng
9 Ashley Datnow – Southern Gauteng
10 Lisa Deetlefs – Southern Gauteng
11 Lilian du Plessis – Southern Gauteng
12 Courtney du Preez – North West
13 Mishka Eliis – SA U21
14 Celia Evans – Northerns Blues
15 Tegan Fourie – KZN Raiders
16 Tarryn Glasby – Western Province
17 Simone Gouws – Free State
18 Erin Hunter – Southern Gauteng
19 Lizanne Jacobs – Free State
20 Lezaan Jansen van Vuuren – SA U21
21 Robyn Johnson – Southern Gauteng
22 Jessica Lardant – KZN Raiders
23 Charne Maddocks – North West
24 Ongeziwe Mali – Eastern Province
25 Tarryn Mallet – Southern Gauteng
26 Marizen Marais – Northerns Blues
27 Toni Marks – Eastern Province
28 Jade Mayne – Western Province
29 Phumelela Mbande – Northerns Blues
30 Mmatshepo Modipane – Southern Gauteng
31 Edith Molikoe – SA U21
32 Kristen Paton – Southern Gauteng
33 Hannah Pearce – Southern Gauteng
34 Nepo Serage – SA U21
35 Shindre-Lee Simmons – Free State
36 Sandi Tabata – Western Province
37 Sylvia van Jaarsveldt – Southern Gauteng
38 Marelize van Tonder – Southern Gauteng
39 Marguerite van Wyk – Northerns Blues
40 Izelle Verster – Northerns Blues
41 Nomnikelo Veto – Southern Gauteng
42 Nicole Walraven – Northerns Blues
43 Bianca Wood – Border
44 Onthathile Zulu – SA U21



Photo 1 Caption: Erin Hunter has been named among the 44-member squad for the SA Hockey team by head coach Robin van Ginkel. Photo: SA Hockey



With editing by gsport

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

Sports 24 Seven

Sports 24 Seven

33 year old full time Chartered Accountant, part time passionate hockey media journalist. Telling the story of the incredible hockey people in South Africa.

Recent Posts


Follow Us