Sanders Scoops MTB Cross-Country Title

by | Jul 21, 2013

Samantha Sanders won the elite cross-country title at the 2013 Cycling SA-MTB National Championships at Hayterdale Trails, Addo, near Port Elizabeth on Saturday 20 July, 2013, ahead of Amy McDougall and Cherie Vale. File photo: Samantha Sanders on facebook

Samantha Sanders put down a dominant charge to claim the elite cross-country title at the 2013 Cycling SA-MTB National Championships at the Hayterdale Trails near Port Elizabeth on Saturday, in front one of the biggest participant turnouts that South African Mountain Biking has seen in many years.

The race saw Samantha Sanders take top honours in prestigious mountain biking event on the annual calendar in 01:28:25, with Amy McDougall and Cherie Vale finishing second and third respectively.

Continuing her early-season form, Mariske Strauss dominated the 5-lap women’s u23 race in 01:09:01, placing more than three minutes ahead of second placed Candice Neethling. Ashleigh Moffatt finished in third place.

Bianca Haw won the Junior category in 01:04:34 (4 laps), whilst Frankie du Toit is the proud wearer of the national jersey in the Youth category, winning her 4-lap race in 01:04:36.

Click here to view the full results.

Sunday sees some of the country’s top downhill stars compete for the national championship title at Hayterdale Trails at the base of the Zuurberg Pass near Addo. Spectators are most welcome to attend and support South Africa’s mountain biking stars, and entry for spectators is free.

For any further information regarding the 2013 Cycling SA-MTB National Championships, powered by Frontier Events, please contact Cycling SA MTB Director Brett Coates on 082 774 5821 or event organiser Brad Jackson on 082 651 9182 or email [email protected]


Results at the 2013 SA National MTB XCP Champs, at Hayterdale Trails near Addo on 20 July, 2013:
Elite Women (6 laps):
1. Samantha Sanders 01:28:25
2. Amy McDougall 01:32:52
3. Cherie Vale 01:35:38
U23 Women (5 laps):
1. Mariske Strauss 01:09:01
2. Candice Neethling 01:12:14
3. Ashleigh Moffatt 01:21:40
Junior Women (4 laps):
1. Bianca Haw 01:04:34
2. Catherine Colyn 01:07:22
3. Jessica Alcock 01:07:45
Youth Women (4 laps):
1. Frankie du Toit 01:04:36
2. Saffron Vosloo 01:14:00
3. Amy Williams 01:15:22

(With editing by gsport)


Share this article:

About the Author:

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Unbeaten Golden Fireballs Top TNL Standings
Unbeaten Golden Fireballs Top TNL Standings

Golden Fireballs Top the Telkom Netball League Standings as Sunday promises more great action in South Africa’s premier netball tournament. #TelkomNL #TNLisBack @TelkomZA @SuperSportTV @Netball _SA