SPAR invites Ladies to join top athletes Danielle Adlam, Blanche Moila and Tannith Maxwell at the SPAR Mercury Women’s 10km Challenge taking place on June 24 at Sahara Stadium, Kingsmead. Assisting in the entry procedure is Joyce Smith of KwaZulu-Natal Athletics. Picture: Reg Caldecott 

Sunday is the day when thousands of women from all over KwaZulu-Natal and beyond take to the streets of Durban in the SPAR Mercury Women’s 10km and 5km Challenge, with Bokomo at the Sahara Cricket Stadium, Kingsmead in Durban. 

But if you haven’t entered yet, time is running out.  The closing date for entries is Sunday June 23, so unless you’ve already submitted your entry application, don’t miss out on one of the best events on the Durban calendar.

The first 16 thousand entrants will receive a free race t-shirt and a goody bag on registration at the Lifestyle and Registration Expo at Sahara Stadium on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, and those who enter online will receive 3 000 Discovery Vitality points.

The Durban Challenge is the biggest road race in the Southern Hemisphere, and has achieved iconic status alongside races like the famous Comrades ultra-marathon, and the Two Oceans Marathon.

Some of South Africa’s best runners, including three-time winner Poppy Mlambo, Grace de Oliveira, Tannith Maxwell, Blanche Moila and many other top women athletes from across the country, will all be competing for top honours in search of valuable Grand Prix points.

But the race is also about the thousands of women who are doing it just for fun and to be part of an event that is all about women.

If you feel you can’t run for 10km, organisers have included an inaugural 5km fun run/walk, which is expected to be a hit with the participants of all ages.

But run, walk or crawl – you have to enter to be part of this great race, and time is running out.  Walala wasala – if you snooze, you lose!  Don’t delay, enter today!

Entry forms are available from all SPAR, SUPERSPAR and KWIKSPAR stores, or you can enter online at the SPAR website, but remember: The closing date for online entries is Wednesday, June 20.