Winners Pot Increased for 2013 SA Sports Awards

SA Sports Awards logoSouth Africa’s top sports performers will be richly rewarded at this year’s SA Sport Awards in November, when a multi-million pool of prizes will be awarded in nineteen categories (Download the Sports Awards Rulebook that includes the nomination form here).

Building on the success of last year’s awards when this year’s Olympic medalist Chad le Clos was award Newcomer of the Year, the event promises to be the ultimate recognition of South African present, past and upcoming sports talent.

A total prize money of R3,7m will be awarded to winners in each category, with the first prize of R1m plus a luxury car going to the Sport Star of the Year. This is a tenfold increase in prize money in this category from last year.

All nominees will receive a prize of R10 000.

Nominees will be announced on 4 October following a nomination process that will close on 26 September.

The event is a collaboration between SRSA, SASCOC, the SABC and the Gauteng Department of Sport, Arts and Culture, and will take place on Sunday 17 November 2013 at the Superbowl at Sun City.

Visit the Sport Awards website at, or follow them on Twitter at @SASportsAwards.

The 2013 SA Sports Awards Categories:
1. School Team of the year (New Category)
2. Developing school team of the year (New Category)
3. Best Recreation Body of the Year (New category)
4. Administrator of the Year
5. Sportsman of the Year
6. Sportsman of the Year with disability
7. Sportswoman of the year
8. Sportswoman of the year with disability
9. Team of the year
10. Newcomer of the year
11. Coach of the year
12. Volunteer of the Year
13. Indigenous games star of the year
14. Federation of the year
15. Photographer of the year
16. Journalist of the year
17. Sports Star of the year
18. Steve Tshwete lifetime achievement
19. Minister’s Awards ( Andrew Mlangeni Green Jacket, Excellence Awards & Ambassadors Awards)


(With editing by gsport)


Share this article: