Women’s Cricket Camp At HPC

by | Sep 2, 2006

The South African National Women’s cricket team today began their two-day pre-season training camp at the University of Pretoria’s High Performance Centre, ahead of the 2006/2007 domestic provincial league, which starts in October.

Over the next two-day’s, the 20-women squad will undergo a variety of fitness test’s as well as play an internal limited-overs match to gage the levels of match fitness.  

National Women’s Cricket Convenor, Geraldine Smith, said: “We have selected this 20-women squad to be part of this training camp as we believe they are the best to take South African Women’s cricket to an elevated level. 

“Twelve of the 20 selected players were part of the 2005 World Cup team, and we are certain that this new mixture of youth and experience will be a force to reckoned with in the future.”    

The pre-season training camp will also be used to prepare for the five-match ODI series against Pakistan, in January next year.    

Following Pakistan’s tour, the South African’s will then travel north to Holland to play three ODI’s and a Test match against the Dutch Women’s team in July.  

The internal and external tours will be in preparation of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifying Tournament in 2008, where South Africa will have to win the Tournament in order to participate in the 2009 ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia.


SA Women’s Cricket Team: 

1           Angelique Taai                     Border

2           Shandre Fritz                       Western Province

3           Ashlyn Kilowan                    Western Province

4           Susan Benade                     Free State

5           Claire Terblanche                 Boland

6           Daleen Terblanche               Gauteng

7           Alicia Smith                         Boland

8           Shafeeqa Pillay                    Eastern Province

9           Marcia Letsoalo                    Northerns

10         Sunette Loubser                   Boland

11         Hanri Strydom                      Limpopo

12         Erne’ Webber                       Eastern Province

13         Liesel Jordaan                      Border

14         Mignon du Preez                  Northerns

15         Annelie Minnie                     Free State

16         Johmari Logtenberg              KwaZulu Natal

17         Kirsten Blair                        Gauteng

18         Lonell De Beer                     Northerns

19         Trisha Chetty                       KwaZulu Natal

20         Crizelda Britz                       North West   



Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="https://gsport.co.za/members/kass_naidoo/" target="_self">Kass Naidoo</a>

Kass Naidoo

Passionate sports broadcaster and founder of gsport4girls

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts