Zola Thamae Makes History

by | Aug 6, 2007

Zola Thamae is the first woman full member of Cricket South Africa’s General Council.Zola Thamae, Vice-President of the SA Women’s Cricket Association and the team manager of the SA Women’s Cricket Team currently touring Europe, is the first woman to become a full member of Cricket South Africa’s General Council.

Thamae (43) was one of three Black African representatives elected onto the council at last week’s annual general meeting held in Kempton Park.

Gerald Majola, CEO, of Cricket South Africa, said: "Zola Thamae is one of the most outstanding sports administrators in South Africa. She has given of her time and skills selflessly for women’s sport, especially at grassroots level where the need is greatest.

"Free State and South African cricket have been most fortunate that she chose to focus so much of her efforts in our sport. Her managerial skills have been most valued and she has managed the national women’s cricket team since 2004, including the present tour to Europe."

Speaking to gsport from Europe, Bloemfontein-based Thamae, an education specialist, said: "It’s a great honour to serve on the CSA Genco (General Council). I am serving on the Free State Genco since 1996, and it’s a similar scenario, but on a bigger scale."

Thamae, who has held various positions across women’s sport, since 1987, continued: “I have been to Genco meetings twice, representing women’s cricket. CSA has taken a right stand to have a woman on board although other provinces have taken that direction before CSA.

“We have women structures in all provinces and women are growing day by day. I am so humbled by this nomination and will give my best shot to serve the people of South Africa at large.”

Cricket South Africa’s General Council now is:

President: Norman Arendse; Vice-President: Logan Naidoo; Treasurer: Hentie van Wyk; CEO: Gerald Majola; Black African Representatives: Max Boqwana, Ernest Moletsi and Ms Zola Thamae; Affiliate Presidents: Leon Crawley (Free State); Peter Cyster (Boland); Mohammed Ebrahim (Western Province); Fanie Gericke (North West); Ahmed Jinnah (Griqualand West); AM Khan (KwaZulu-Natal); Vuyisile Mgadle (Border); Mtutuzeli Nyoka (Gauteng); Andy O’Connor (Easterns); Pietie Steffens (Northerns); and Raymond Uren (Eastern Province). Co-Opted: Chris van der Merwe (CSA Associate Member)

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="https://gsport.co.za/members/kass_naidoo/" target="_self">Kass Naidoo</a>

Kass Naidoo

Passionate sports broadcaster and founder of gsport4girls


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts