Albertina Sisulu Special Recognition Awards for Champion Sportswomen

Five outstanding South African disabled women in sport, who have overcome the odds to achieve on the global sporting stage, were honoured at the 2018 gsport Awards to conclude Sport and Recreation South Africa’s (SRSA) Women’s Month commemorations of the Albertina Sisulu Centenary.

The special presentation was made at the 2018 gsport Awards, the country’s longest running women’s sport Awards, hosted at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg, by Sports Minister, Tokozile Xasa, and Ma Sisulu’s granddaughter, Zoya.

The recipients were international swimming icon, Natalie du Toit, South Africa’ first black Paralympic gold medallist, Zanele Situ, Rio Paralympic silver medallist, Anrune Liebenberg, SA’s number one wheelchair tennis star, Kg Montjane and visually impaired 5000m world champion, Louzanne Coetzee.

One of the beaming recipients, Anrune Liebenberg, said: “I feel very honoured because being disabled and female, I would like to inspire children and show them no matter what your obstacles you can conquer anything. 

“It was a privilege to be part of the gsport Awards.” – Anrune Liebenberg, 2018 Albertina Sisulu Centenary Special Recognition recipient

Speaking on behalf of the Sisulu family, Zoya Sisulu said of her grandmother: “I think she is in great company amongst you all, amongst trailblazers. It’s great to have her recognised and to have women uplifted and recognized for their contribution to the struggle.

“Being Women’s Month, I think it is important to recognise the Women’s March and what can be achieved by women when they act collectively, when they are moving with purpose towards a goal. This platform shows the power of collaboration and co-ordination.”

The gsport Awards was launched in August 2006 to raise the profile of women’s sport in SA and encourage Corporate South Africa to back its athletes.

The gsport Awards is a partnership between the gsport Trust and SRSA, supported by M-Sports Marketing, TSO Productions, Vision View, Gauteng Sport, Sasol, SABC Foundation, Estee Lauder, Big Five Duty Free, WorldWide Sports, Nyapotse Inc, SAB&T Nexia and Red Bull.


Photo 1 caption: In the spirit of highest respect in memory of one of the nation’s foremost women struggle icons, represented on the night by Zoya Sisulu (third from right in main group), South Africa’s first woman Sport and Recreation Minister, Tokozile Xasa MP, (second from left in main group) bestowed Albertina Sisulu Special Recognition Awards on Anrune Liebenberg (far left), Zanele Situ (in wheelchair), Louzanne Coetzee, Natalie du Toit and Kgothatso Montjane (represented by Anthony Moruthane) in a fitting occasion to mark Sport and Recreation South Africa’s celebration of the Albertina Sisulu Centenary, at the 2018 gsport Awards, hosted at the Wanderers Club in Illovo, Johannesburg, on 31 August, 2018. Photo: gsport


Share this article:


Submit a Comment