Athletics Stars Headline SA Team to CAA Champs

by | May 30, 2012

Caster Semenya headlines a group of 30 women in rich athletic form selected to represent South Africa at the CAA Africa Senior Championships in Porto Novo, Benin from 27 June – 1 July 2012.

Semenya, the 2011 World Championships 800m silver medallist, has already qualified for the London 2012 Olympic Games and needs to compete at the Championships as part of the selection criteria agreed on with SASCOC. (Full criteria and exceptions are available on the Athletics South Africa website).

On 5 April, Semenya broke the 2min barrier for the first time on South African soil since Zelda Pretorius ran 1:58.85 in 1991, clocking 1:59.60, her best this season. Semenya has only represented South Africa at one Africa Championships in 2009 as junior athlete in Bambous, Mauritius.

Sunette Viljoen currently holds the Africa and South African record in the women’s javelin throw and has also qualified for the Olympic Games.

The 29-year-old will be competing at her fifth Africa Championships this year and with her brilliant track record (gold in 2004, 2008, 2010 and silver in 2006). The reigning champion won bronze in Daegu at the World Championships in September 2011 with 68.38m. Her best this season is 61.84m in Ostrava on 25 May.


Athletics SA women athletes selected to represent SA at the CAA Africa Senior Championships in Porto Novo, Benin, 27 June – 1 July 2012:
Tsholofelo Thipe (CNW) 200m, 400m
Rorisang Ramonye (CNW) 400m
Estie Wittstock (AGN) 400m
Caster Semenya (AGN) 800m
Mandie Brandt (CGA) 800m
Mapaseka Makhanya (CGA) 800m, 1500m
Lebogang Phalula (CGA) 1500m
Lebo Phalula (CGA) 1500m
Rene Kalmer (CGA) 5000m
Noleen Conrad (CGA) 3000m St
Claudia Viljoen (AGN) 100m H
Ansulet Potgieter (AFS) 100m H
Wenda Theron (AGN) 400m H
Janet Lawless (BOLA) 400m H
Anneri Ebersohn (AGN) 400mH
Deone Joubert (AGN) PV
Jeannie van Dyk (EPA) PV
Juanita Stander (WPA) PV
Anika Smit (CNW) HJ
Bianca Erwee (CNW) HJ
Patience Ntshingila (CNW) LJ, TJ
Janice Josephs (BOLA) LJ
Lynique Prinsloo (AGN) LJ
Charlene Potgieter (AGN) TJ
Sonia Smuts (AGN) SP
Elizna Naude (AGN) DT
Maryke Oberholzer (AGN) DT
Annemie Smith (ASWD) HT
Sunette Viljoen (ACNW) JT
Gerlize de Klerk (ACNW)


Share this article:

About the Author:

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Five Women to Watch in 2022
Five Women to Watch in 2022

As the year winds down and we look ahead to 2022, gsport has chosen five women in Lydia Monyepao, Miné de Klerk, Mpumi Manyisi, Nonkululeko Mlaba and Simoné Kruger who all have what it takes to rise to a winning 2022 #GoGirls!