#gsport18 Judges Impressed with Top Class Entries

As we head towards the 2023 Momentum gsport Awards finalists announcement on Tuesday, 22 August, the #gsport18 judging panel had their work cut out as they sifted through a stellar list of nominees to conclude the top three in each category.
#PowerOfRecognition #SheOwnsHerSuccess

Motherhood Inspires the Journey

Bantwana head coach Simphiwe Dluldlu has found that parenting and coaching are similar which makes for a smooth transition between the two. Photo: Supplied

This Mother’s Day, gsport speak to former Banyanya Banyana Captain and Bantwana head coach Simphiwe Dludlu, Long distance running sensation Mapaseka Makhanya and Aerobic gymnastics champion Dominique Crous as they share how they use the lessons of motherhood to pave the way and strive in the world of sport.

Celebrating Former Momentum Athlete of the Year Winners

Canoe specialist Hayley Nixon smiles after winning the 2020 Momentum Athlete of the Year Award, in Johannesburg on 31 August, 2021. Photo: gsport

In celebration of Women’s Day, we honour former Momentum Athlete of the Year winners, who are continuing to build on their successes both on and off the field and playing their part in putting the country on the map #SheOwnsHerSuccess @Momentum_za

Can Kgatlana or Steyn Stop Semenya?

It is anyone’s guess who will scoop gsport’s top athlete award in 2019, with CAF African Footballer of the Year Thembi Kgatlana and Comrades record buster Gerda Steyn up against 800m world champ, Caster Semenya

Brand South Africa Championing Women’s Sport

UJ Sport Marketing and Communications Co-ordinator and gsport blogger Kimara Singh attended Brand South Africa’s launch of its #SASportsFriday initiative at the Wanderers Stadium on Friday, which aims to put women’s sports participation at the forefront of its campaign

Xaba Wins her Maiden SPAR Women’s 10km in Pretoria

Boxer runner Glenrose Xaba followed up her Totalsports 10km win in July by winning her maiden SPAR Women’s 10km title, at Supersport Park in Pretoria on 4 August, 2018, where she was followed by Nedbank’s Rutendo Nyahora, and KPMG runner and Grand Prix defending champion, Kesa Molotsane.

Leading Women In Sport Inspire SA Youth

Leading women in sport inspire SA Youth to remember the origins of Youth Day, hold yourself accountable for your dreams, and gather the courage to face your fears is the advice of three of South Africa’s most recognisable names in sport, as South Africa reflects in honour of National Youth Day.

Brit Tish Jones Scoops SPAR 10km Challenge in Durban

British marathon athlete Tish Jones led the Durban leg of the 2017 SPAR Women’s 10km Challenge from start to finish to take the title ahead of current Grand Prix leader Kesa Moletsane and Lebogang Phalula in third.