Burger Delighted at Tour Durban Defence

The chasing peloton of elite women, including eventual winner Lynette Burger (left) climb up the M4 near Umhlanga, in the closing stages of the aQuellé Tour Durban, in Durban on Sunday, 28 April, 2013. Photo: Dave Macleod/Gameplan Media

The evergreen Lynette Burger secured a second successive win in the aQuellé Tour Durban cycle race with a solid victory over Marissa Stander (Bestmed), with two of her Momentum Toyota teammates Leandri du Toit and Anri Coetzee filling third and fourth places.

The women’s race proving to be an emphatic one for the Momentum Toyota team – captained by seasoned pro Lynette Burger, her win on Sunday ending a run of unusually poor form.

Strong climber Heidi Dalton took the sprint hotspot, and sprinter Burger took the Queen of the Mountains hotspot.

"I needed this win really badly!" Lynette Burger made her mark on the domestic cycling fraternity with a second successive win in the aQuellé Tour Durban. Photo: Dave Macleod/Gameplan Media“I really needed this one!” gushed Burger. “I have been really battling to put together results, and my form has just not been there, so to get this one and retain my title means a lot.”

“I am having such fun with this team, teaching them all I can about racing and team dynamics. They are young and have big dreams, and it is absolutely amazing to see how much they have all developed as riders in such a short space of time,” she added.

The massive total field of over 4000 riders taking part in the three races lapped up riding in superb warm and windless weather conditions, that showcased the city’s landmarks in picture postcard style.

More information on the aQuellé Tour Durban road races can be found at www.tourdurban.co.za


Leading Results of the aQuellé Tour Durban road race, on 28 April, 2013:
1. Lynette Burger 2:53:23
2. Marissa Stander 2:53:23
3. Leandri du Toit 2:53:23
4. Anri Coetzee 2:53:23
5. Cashandra Slingerland 2:53:23
6. Heidi Dalton 2:53:37
7. Julieann Hampson 2:54:22
8. Brenda Potts 2:54:22
9. Mira Spring 2:54:22
10. Cathryn Doherty-Bigara 2:56:48


(With editing by gsport)


Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us