Caster, Pietie and Noko nominated for gsport Awards

[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”yes” overflow=”visible”][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ background_position=”left top” background_color=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” spacing=”yes” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” padding=”” margin_top=”0px” margin_bottom=”0px” class=”” id=”” animation_type=”” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_direction=”left” hide_on_mobile=”no” center_content=”no” min_height=”none”]

The three athletes up for the 2011 gSTAR of the Year award, Pietie Coetzee, Noko Matlou, and Caster Semenya.

The three athletes up for the 2011 gSTAR of the Year award, Pietie Coetzee, Noko Matlou, and Caster Semenya.

Athlete Caster Semenya, hockey star Pietie Coetzee and football ace, Noko Matlou, will battle it out for top honours at the 2011 gsport Awards, which takes place in exactly one month’s time, on 1 August 2011, at the prestigious Wanderers Club in Illovo, Johannesburg.

The trio has been nominated for the 2011 gSTAR of the Year award, which recognises a sportswoman who has stood out for her achievements, both on- and off the field.

This has been announced by popular online women’s sport initiative gsport… for Girls! as it gears up to host its 6th Annual Awards, which lauds the valuable contribution of individuals to the promotion of women in sport in South Africa.

Nominees for the four main Leading Ladies award categories were revealed, and it sees 12 outstanding women battle it out for gsport Awards glory.

Head of Women’s Football at the South African Football Association (SAFA) Nomsa Mahlangu, visual skills and performance specialist Dr. Sherylle Calder, and Acting Director-General in the Department of Sport and Recreation South Africa (SRSA) Sumayya Khan have been nominated for the 2011 gsport Woman of the Year award, which recognises a woman who has achieved in her chosen field, and stands out as a role model for women.

The nominees for the 2011 Women in Media award are Cricinfo and Soccernet journalist Firdose Moonda, Proteas men’s cricket team media officer, Lerato Malekutu and football analyst and Kick Off Magazine Chief Copy Editor, Melissa Reddy. This award recognises a woman who has made her mark in the male-dominated field of sports media.

The 2011 gsport Style Star of the Year award will be hotly contested between FHM Sexiest Woman Shashi Naidoo, popular 5FM radio personality Poppy Ntshongwana and Expresso breakfast show host Liezel van der Westhuizen. This award is presented to a woman whose style exudes confidence, passion, and self-belief.

The overall winner in each category will be chosen by an esteemed gsport Awards Voting Panel.

Another highlight of the morning will be the induction of the 2011 gsport Hall of Fame recipient. This individual will join the celebrated ranks of gsport Hall of Famers, which include swimming icon, Penny Heyns, 80s netball phenomenon Hazel Gumede, marathon queen Elana Meyer, Banyana Banyana legend Desiree Ellis and community sports activist Motlatsi Keikabile.

Two new categories have been introduced this year – Sports Federation of the Year and Sponsor of the Year – to thank key role players who have helped further women’s sport in South Africa. gsport will also honour the 2011 Volunteer of the Year, an individual who promotes women’s sport for little or no gain.

gsport Founder Kass Naidoo said: “Women and women’s sport have made significant strides over the past year and we look forward to once again rewarding excellence.

“gsport’s aim is to raise the profile of women’s sport in South Africa and we are proud of the work the initiative has done over the past six years.”

Get the latest information on the 2011 gsport Awards by logging on to or by following @gsport4girls on Twitter and Facebook.


2011 gSTAR of the Year award:

Pietie Coetzee
Noko Matlou
Caster Semenya

2011 gsport Woman of the Year award:

Dr. Sherylle Calder
Sumayya Khan
Nomsa Mahlangu


2011 Women in Media award:

Lerato Malekutu
Firdose Moonda
Melissa Reddy


2011 gsport Style Star of the Year award:

Shashi Naidoo
Poppy Ntshongwana
Liezel van der Westhuizen


The gsport Hall of Fame:

2006: Penny Heyns
2007: Hazel Gumede
2008: Elana Meyer
2009: Desiree Ellis
2010: Motlatsi Keikabile


Get the latest information on the 2011 gsport Awards by ‘Liking’ @gsport4girls on Facebook, and ‘Following’ @gsport4girls on Twitter.[/fusion_builder_column][/fusion_builder_row][/fusion_builder_container]

Share this article:


Submit a Comment