Coach Ellis Names Banyana Banyana Squad for 2019 FIFA World Cup

Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana head coach, Desiree Ellis, has named 23 players to represent South Africa at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup from 7 June to 7 July in France.

Ellis has kept the bulk of the team that was instrumental in the Senior Women’s National Team qualifying for the tournament in Ghana last year, who have a lot of experience but blooded in some number of youngsters in the mix.

She has named two uncapped players, defender Bongeka Gamede, who plays for the University of the Western Cape in Cape Town, as well as goalkeeper Mapaseka Mpuru, who is on the books of the University of Pretoria.

Including these two, there are only five players who have made less than 10 appearances each for Banyana Banyana – Tiisetso Makhubela (2), Karabo Dhlamini (5), Sibulele Holweni (1) and Amanda Mthandi (9).

Dhlamini and Holweni will be going to their second World Cup tournament in less than a year – they were part of the U17 Women’s National Team (Bantwana) that competed at the 2018 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup in Uruguay.

The duo makes up four members of the current squad who have World Cup experience – with Kaylin Swart and Jermaine Seoposenwe having played in the tournamanent in Trinidad and Tobago in 2010 as part of the U17 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Experience Bolsters Banyana Banyana’s Prospects

There are four players with over 100 caps – captain Janine van Wyk (166), Noko Matlou (152), Nothando Vilakazi (129) and vice captain Refiloe Jane (104).

“It was a difficult period to complete the final squad with many players raising their hands, and that is why we left it until late to announce our team. We went with a lot of experience and included some youngsters because we also have to think about the future. I have always believed in the saying that if a player looks ready don’t mind their age, just give them a chance,” said Ellis.

“I have full confidence in the squad that we have selected and I believe we will surprise many at the tournament.” – Banyana Banyana Head Coach, Desiree Ellis

Banyana Banyana assemble for camp on Wednesday, 22 May in Johannesburg before flying out to France the next day (Thursday, 24 May).

They will have one last chance to fine-tune the squad with an international friendly match against Norway on 2 June in Amiens.

Banyana Banyana open their World Cup account with a clash against Spain in Le Havre on 8 June, followed by a fixture against China PR on 13 June in Paris.

The final group stages match will be against Germany on 17 June in Montpellier.


Group B Draw:
Saturday, 8 June: Spain vs South Africa (19h00 SA Time) Stade Océane, Le Havre
Thursday, 13 June: South Africa vs China PR (22h00) Parc des Princes, Paris
Monday, 17 Jun: South Africa vs Germany (19h00) Stade de la Mosson, Montpellier


Banyana Banyana Squad for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup:
16. Andile Dlamini (1992) 37 caps – Mamelodi Sundowns FC, Johannesburg
20. Kaylin Swart (1994) 18 caps – Golden Stars FC, Port Elizabeth
1. Mapaseka Mpuru (1998) Uncapped – University of Pretoria, Pretoria
2. Lebohang Ester Ramalepe (1991) 62 caps – Ma-Indies FC, Polokwane
3. Nothando Vilakazi (1988) 129 caps – FK Gintra Universita, Lithuania
4. Noko Alice Matlou (1985) 152 caps – Ma –Indies FC, Polokwane
5. Janine van Wyk (1987) 166 caps – JVW FC, Johannesburg
13. Bambanani Nolufefe Mbane (1990) 43 caps – Bloemfontein Celtic, Bloemfontein
23. Bongeka Gamede (1999) Uncapped – University of Western Cape, Cape Town
14. Tiisetso Makhubela (1997) 2 caps – Mamelodi Sundowns FC, Johannesburg
15. Refiloe Jane (1992) 104 caps – Unattached, Johannesburg
6. Mamello Makhabane (1988) 96 caps – JVW FC, Johannesburg
7. Karabo Dhlamini (2001) 5 caps – Mamelodi Sundowns FC, Johannesburg
17. Leandra Smeda (1989) 95 caps – Vottsjo GIK, Sweden
19. Kholosa Biyana (1994) 17 caps – University of kwaZulu-Natal, Durban
18. Busisiwe Ndimeni (1991) 26 caps – University of Pretoria, Pretoria
21. Sibulele Holweni (2001) 1 cap – Sophakama Ladies/HPC, Port Elizabeth
10. Linda Motlhalo (1998) 42 caps – Beiging BG Phoenix FC, China
Forwards / Strikers:
22. Rhoda Mulaudzi (1989) 22 caps – Unattached, Johannesburg
11. Thembi Kgatlana (1996) 52 caps – Beiging BG Phoenix FC, China
12. Jermaine Seoposenwe (1993) 74 caps – FK Gintra Universita, Lithuania
9. Amanda Mthandi (1996) 9 caps – University of Johannesburg, Johannesburg
8. Ode Fulutudilu (1990) 11 caps – Malaga FC, Spain


Photo 1 caption: Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana head coach, Desiree Ellis, has named 23 players to represent South Africa at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup from 7 June to 7 July in France. Photo: gsport

Photo 2 caption: The announcement was chaired by SAFA’s Media Manager Matlhomola Morake (far left), who sat next to Banyana Banyana Head Coach Desiree Ellis, Nozipho Mbatha representing team sponsor SASOL, and Banyana Banyana Team Manager, Lauren Duncan. Photo: gsport

Photo 3 caption: Coach Ellis presented a team full of experience, with four players having 100 caps to their names, and the inclusion of two uncapped players in defender Bongeka Gamede and goalkeeper Mapaseka Mpuru. Photo: gsport

Photo 4 caption: The throngs of media present had many questions for the coach, emphasising the gravity invoked in the selection of first-ever team to represent the nation at a FIFA Women’s World Cup. Photo: gsport

Photo 5 caption: Among the fresh legs selected are Karabo Dhlamini (5 caps) and Sibulele Holweni (1 cap) will be going to their second World Cup tournament in less than a year, after representing the nation as Bantwana at the 2018 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup in Uruguay. Photo: gsport


With editing by gsport

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us