CSA Announce 15-member Squad for the ODI Series in New Zealand

Team captain, Dané van Niekerk, makes a welcome return as captain after a lengthy period out on the sidelines with injury, as well as big hitting all-rounder Chloe Tryon who missed the last series in India and will return to her role deputising for van Niekerk.

The team heads down under with a much stronger unit as compared to the tour of India as the likes of seamers Marizanne Kapp and Ayabonga Khaka are fully fit and will add the much-needed experience to a side that includes youngsters like Nondumiso Shangase and Nadine de Klerk.

The Hilton Moreeng-lead outfit will play their first and second ODI match at Eden Park outer Oval in Auckland, with the last ODI taking place at Seddon Park in Hamilton.

Protea Women’s ODI Squad for the New Zealand Tour:
1 Dane Van Niekerk © Eastern Province
2 Laura Wolvaardt Western Province
3 Lizelle Lee North West
4 Mignon Du Preez Northerns
5 Marizanne Kapp Eastern Province
6 Sune Luus Northerns
7 Chloe Tryon (v/c) KZN Coastal
8 Shabnim Ismail KZN Coastal
9 Ayabonga Khaka Gauteng
10 Masabata Klaas North West
11 Tumi Sekhukhune North West
12 Trisha Chetty KZN Coastal
13 Nonkululeko Mlaba KZN Coastal
14 Nadine De Klerk Western Province
15 Nondumiso Shangase KZN Coastal

Proteas Women’s ODI Fixtures:

25 Jan 2020:
01:00: New Zealand Women v South Africa Women – Eden Park Outer Oval, Auckland

27 Jan 2020:
01:00: New Zealand Women v South Africa Women – Eden Park Outer Oval, Auckland

30 Jan 2020:
03:00: New Zealand Women v South Africa Women – Seddon Park, Hamilton



Photo 1 Caption: Proteas Women captain, Dane Van Niekerk pictured during the 2020 New Zealand Tour South Africa Womens Training at the Groenkloof Cricket Grounds. Photo: Cricket South Africa


With editing by gsport

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us