De Beers Backs Doubles Nationals

De Beers will sponsor the SA National Squash Doubles Championships for the second successive year, when the event gets underway at the Johannesburg Country Club on Monday 3rd March 2008.

Initiated in South Africa by the late Gary Thomson in 1985 as the then Transvaal Championships, the event has grown in stature in recent years, as has the game of doubles in the world arena.

Doubles has been included in the Commonwealth Games since 1998, when the South African pairing of Natalie Grainger and Claire Nitch won bronze, and the 2008 World Doubles Championships will be hosted by the Indian Squash Rackets Association in Chennai, later in the year.

Three times winners of the women’s doubles title, Angie Clifton-Parks and Diana Argyle, top the seedings in the women’s section followed by defending champions Farrah Sterne and Vivienne Doeg of Northerns, and Argyle is also the top seed in the mixed doubles, partnered by Paul Atkinson.

The finals of the championships, which also includes men’s, women’s and mixed B sections and a Masters’ section, will be played from 09h00 on Saturday 8th March 2008, while week-day matches will be played from 17h30.  


Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

gsport Newsroom

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts


Follow Us