Erin Hunter to Lead SA Squad for FIH Hockey Series Final in Valencia

by | May 2, 2019

The South African Women’s Hockey Team, proudly sponsored by Supergroup, will be taking part in the FIH Hockey Series Final in Valencia from the 19-27 June. The tournament, featuring 8 sides including hosts Spain, has two spots up for grabs in the Olympic Qualifying matches to be played later this year.

The South Africans have been sorted into pool B alongside Wales, Thailand and Italy. The top team in each pool progresses directly to the Semi-Finals while the 2nd and 3rd placed teams play a cross pool qualifier first.

The South African challenge will be led by new captain Erin Hunter, who is appointed for the first time to lead the country. The vice-captain has been appointed as Phumelela Mbande, her first outing for the country since her player of the match performance against Argentina at the Hockey World Cup.

“The team selected has a good core of experienced players that will help blend the new names into the team and into International hockey.”

Hunter and Mbande were both part of that World Cup squad and are joined from that squad by Kristen Paton, Kara Botes, Dirkie Chamberlain, Lisa Deetlefs, Lilian du Plessis, Quanita Bobbs and Tarryn Glasby. There is also a recall for Celia Evans, the 2016 SA Hockey Player of the Year, after missing the showpiece event with a knee injury.

Bianca Woods, Hannah Pearce and Sandi Tabata will all be given the opportunity to earn their first caps for the country after impressing for the South African Under 21 side recently, while Indoor national player Robyn Johnson also will get an opportunity to wear the green and gold for the first time with the outdoor side.

It will also be the first test tournament for Robin van Ginkel in the role of Head Coach for South Africa and he is excited about the opportunity:

“I am really excited to take my first team to Spain, and look to do well in the FIH Hockey Series Final,” said van Ginkel.

“The team selected has a good core of experienced players that will help blend the new names into the team and into International hockey. I am really looking forward to the start of our four-year process and the success we can bring to South African Hockey!”


South African Women’s Hockey Squad:

1Erin Hunter (captain)Southern Gauteng   .41
2Phumi Mbande (Vice-captain) (GK)    .Northern Blues35
3Stephanie BaxterNorth West23
4Quanita BobbsWestern Province114
5Kara BotesSouthern Gauteng41
6Dirkie ChamberlainNorth West225
7Lisa DeetlefsSouthern Gauteng250
8Lilian du PlessisSouthern Gauteng119
9Celia EvansNorthern Blues145
10Tarryn GlasbyWestern Province30
11Robyn JohnsonSouthern Gauteng0
12Marizen MaraisNorthern Blues14
13Mmathshepo Modipane (GK)Southern Gauteng5
14Kristen PatonSouthern Gauteng15
15Hannah PearceSA U210
16Sandi TabataSA U210
17Izelle VersterNorthern Blues7
18Bianca WoodSA U210



Fixtures – Hockey Series Final:
19 June – South Africa vs. Wales
20 June – South Africa vs. Italy
22 June – South Africa vs. Thailand
24 June – Crossovers
26 June – Semi-Finals
27 June – Final


Photo 1 caption: New captain Erin Hunter of the Supergroup SA Women’s Hockey team will lead a squad which includes talent and youth as they take on Wales, Italy and Thailand in the group stages of the FIH Hockey Series Final in Valencia, Spain, from 19 – 27 June. Photo: SA Hockey


With editing by gsport


Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">Sports 24 Seven</a>

Sports 24 Seven

33 year old full time Chartered Accountant, part time passionate hockey media journalist. Telling the story of the incredible hockey people in South Africa.

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

Roses Comfortably See Off Proteas in Netball Quad Series Opener
Roses Comfortably See Off Proteas in Netball Quad Series Opener

England’s Vitality Roses have eased to a 71-47 victory over South Africa in their opening fixture of the 2022 Netball Quad Series at the Copper Box Arena in London, on Saturday, 15 January. The match was highly anticipated for home team stalwart Geva Mentor’s 150th appearance in national colours, but it was substitute George Fisher’s […]