Free State Women Crowned Women’s First Division Champions 

Free State Women were crowned 2023 Women’s First Division Champions after securing a narrow win over SWD Eagirls at Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein on Saturday, 05 August 2023.

The ladies from the city of roses have been unbeaten in this competition but on Saturday it was a very tough one for them as they walked away with a slim 20-19 victory over the ladies from Oudtshoorn.

SWD led 19-15 with less than 20 minutes to go, but the momentum was with Free State at that stage. The Eagirls sustained a significant blow when they got a yellow card in the 70th minute, not long after that a second yellow card was received and they were forced to finish the game with 13 players.

The result marks Free State’s third title success in this competition, having previously won the First Division in 2015 and 2016.


Free State Women 20 (10) – Tries Nomfundo Pampiri (2), Sne Mdletshe (2).

SWD Eagirls 19 (14) – Tries: Chante Jonck, Yolandi Sampson, Jerononique Murphy. Conversions: Antonecia Hannies (2).

Photo 1 Caption: Free State Women crowned Women’s First Division Champions after a narrow win over SWD Eagirls at Toyota Stadium in Bloemfontein. Photo: Springbok Women (Twitter)

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us