Banyana Banyana defender Janine van Wyk poses with the Petit High football team, who were crowned inaugural Open League champs of the JvW Girls School Soccer League, on 15 September, 2012. Photo: sportzpics

The JVW Girls School Soccer League has come to an end, with a successful Finals Day which was held at St Dunstans College, Benoni on the 15th September 2012.

All the teams from the League participated in a Final League Playoff and U15 Tournament. Jeppe Girls were the U15 Tournament winners on the day, and were also awarded Winners of the U15 League. The Jeppe Girls U15 Team played all their games with ease and not losing a single game.

Striker, Lindo Sukazi received Player of the Year, and Goalkeeper, Robyn Searle received Goalkeeper of the year. (both from Jeppe Girls)

Petit High played against Norkem High in the League Final Match, with Petit High winning the Gold.

Janine van Wyk, Fran Hilton-Smith and the inaugural U15 JvW Girls School Soccer League Winners, Jeppe Girls U15 football team, at the conclusion of the first year's league. Photo: sportzpics

Nelisiwe Mchunu (Petit High) was named Open Player of the year, whilst Palisa Makgosiyane, from Norkem High received Goalkeeper of the year.

A squad was chosen from the schools in the league, and this team will go on to play SASOL League teams as well as other friendlies throughout the year.

Schools that would like to enter the 2013 season can provisionally put their name forward, and contact 082 451 6571 or [email protected]

Training sessions headed by Janine Van Wyk will run on Saturday mornings for girls who would like extra training and to possibly go further in the sport.

The JvW Girls School Soccer League Team:
Cailin Whyte (Jeppe Girls)
Nomxolisi (Petit High)
Katlego Kekana (Wordsworth High)
Lesego Mogashoa (Wordsworth HIgh)
Indirah (Edenvale High)
Nicola Hills (Shangri-la Academy)
Kgomotso Mohubedi (Petit High)
Danute Gawel (Jeppe Girls)
Thabang Mokonyama (Norkem High)
Mmabatho Dire (Norkem High)
Nelisiwe Mchunu (Petit High School)
Nekita Meszar (Curro Serengeti)
T Magzi (Jeppe Girls)
Teballo Motaung (Norkem High)
Mbali Ntuli (St Francis)
Kelebogile Moruthane (St Francis)
Amanda Citywayo (Petit High)
Sibongile Ngubeni (Petit High)
Lindo Sukazi (Jeppe Girls)
Christina Senning (Edenvale High)
Kayla Viera (Jeppe Girls)
Jordan van der Linde (Edenvale High)
Casey Bull (Norkem High)