Golf Gals Battle for Top Honours

The Women’s Golf South Africa 72
Hole Teams Championship will be played at Wingate Park Country Club from Monday
26 May to Wednesday 29 May 2008.

Bertine Strauss, one of the 10 players in the World Amateur Team Championship Elite Squad, will be in action at Wingate Park Country Club from May 26-29.

While this stroke play tournament
is an Inter-Provincial Teams event, it also has a strong individual element and
results will certainly be taken into account in the final selection of the
World Amateur Team Championship (WATC) team to play in Australia in
October this year.

The 10 players in the WATC Elite
Squad are: Nicole Becker, Tandi Cuningham, Henriette Frylinck, Ashleigh Holmes,
Mercia Pretorius, Monique Smit, Bertine Strauss, Gina Switala, Iliska Verwey
and Kim Williams.

Tournament Director Paddy Goodwin
says: "We are fortunate to have all the top women players including Iliska
Verwey back on vacation from the USA participating, and the 24 teams
of three players each will have representation from all 12 WGSA unions."

The format of the event is 18 holes
of stroke play on Monday, 36 holes on Tuesday and 18 holes again on Wednesday
with two of the three scores to count for the team in each round.

The holders of the event are Southern Cape who won the event in 2004, 2006 and 2007. With
two players in the current SA Elite Squad, Monique Smit (0), and Ashleigh
Holmes (0), and led by former WGSA Stroke Play Champion and WATC Team Captain
Sandra Winter (2), they will once again present a strong challenge to the
competitors from the north playing on their home turf.

Strong teams in contention are:
North West A – Nicole Becker (+1), Tirsa Matthysen (2) and Bertine Strauss
(+1); Gauteng North A – Henriette Frylinck (1), Gina Switala (+1) and Kim
Williams (+1); Gauteng A: Tandi Cuningham (0), Lizelle Muller (0) and Mercia
Pretorius (0); and Western Province A – Yvette du Plessis (+1), Dominique
Jacobs (1) and stalwart Gilly Tebbutt (1).

Gilly has played in this event
since its inception in 1985. Lumien Lausberg (0 – Free
State) and Vanessa Smith (2 – Western Province)
recently regaining their amateur status and will also be contenders for the
Individual Championship.

The prize
giving will be at approximately 2pm on Wednesday 28 May at Wingate Park.

Click here for more information on the Championship. 

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

About the Author:

Kass Naidoo

Kass Naidoo

Passionate sports broadcaster and founder of gsport4girls

Recent Posts


Follow Us