Jannie Wins Bowls Singles

by | May 15, 2007

Jannie de Beer, former Springbok and winner of the 2007 SA Nationals Women’s Singles Championships.Jannie de Beer of Centurion Bowling Club in Gauteng North has proved that she is still one of the best women bowlers in South Africa when she won the Women’s Singles National Championships in Durban last week.

She beat the much younger Leone du Rand of Pretoria High School Old Boys Club (Gauteng North), also an international player who represented South Africa as recently as in 2006.

A moderate crowd attended the finals on Saturday, and they were kept nailed to their seats while the Sharks were busy beating the Blues not far away from where the SA Eagle Women’s Bowls Nationals were being played.
Jannie de Beer was also involved in the finals of the Fours, the play-off of the Trips, as well as the semi-finals of the Singles, which were all played on the same day.
She played no less than 20 games during the week of the SA Nationals to ultimately be crowned as the South African Women’s Singles Champion of 2007, a title which she can add to her already impressive number of titles achieved over the years.
The last national title that she won was Gold in the SA Senior Masters during 2005.
The Trips were dominated by clubs from Kingfisher District (Lower KwaZulu-Natal South Coast), with teams from Amanzimtoti winning Gold, Port Shepstone CC winning Silver, and Scottburgh winning the Bronze medal.
The final of the Fours was won by a team of Lahee Park (Port Natal) skipped by a former Springbok bowler, Colleen Grondein who narrowly beat the strong team of Centurion in a match that could have gone any way.
All the results of the SA Eagles Women’s National Bowls Championships can be found on the Bowls South Africa website.

The winners of the individual codes were-
Gold – Jannie de Beer (Centurion, Gauteng North)
Silver – Leone du Rand (Phsob, Gauteng North)
Bronze – Flo George (Constantia, Western Province)
Gold – Amanzimtoti (Kingfisher): M van der Poel, C Inglis & V Armitage
Silver – Port Shepstone CC (Kingfisher): K Stander, D Westerveld & P Keyser
Bronze – Scottburgh (Kingfisher): A Jenkins, L James & J Saunders
Gold – Lahee Park (Port Natal): C Grondein, W Armitage, V McKay & L Hilton
Silver – Centurion (Gauteng North): L Victor, J De Beer, J Bernard & Y Clausen
Bronze – Iscor (Sedibeng): M van der Walt, E Maartens, A Nel & K Hattingh
Overall Club Winners:
Gold- Centurion (Gauteng North)
Silver – Lahee Park (Port Natal)
Bronze – Durban Collegians (Port Natal) 

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="https://gsport.co.za/members/gsport_newsroom/" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

2019 gsport Awards Judges Unveiled!
2019 gsport Awards Judges Unveiled!

The 2019 gsport Awards judging took place at SASCOC House in Johannesburg today as a newly formed elite judging panel cast their votes to select the shortlist for the 14th edition of the gsport...

2014 SPAR gsport Awards The Best Ever
2014 SPAR gsport Awards The Best Ever

The 2014 SPAR gsport Awards ceremony was held at the Wanderers Club on Monday November 24. As always, there was a buzz of excitement as more than 200 people gathered to celebrate the cream of...