Liebenberg Medals on Final Night

by | Sep 8, 2012

Anrune Liebenberg became the final woman medalist for South Africa at the London 2012 Paralympic Games, when she won Silver in the 400m (T46) in the Olympic Stadium, on Saturday, 8 September, 2012. In this image, Liebenberg celebrates after winning bronze in the 200m T46, at the Olympic Stadium in London, on 1 September. Photo: Wessel Oosthuizen / SASPA

19-Year old Anrune Liebenberg set a personal best 56.65 to win silver in the women’s 400m T46 final, on the last evening of competition at the 2012 Paralympic Games in London on Saturday, 8 September, 2120.

Liebenberg finished in a time of 56.65 seconds behind Cuba’s Yunidis Castillo, who set a new World Record 55.72. Poland’s Alicja Fiodorow came third, also a PB 58.65.

A week ago, Liebenberg snatched bronze in the women’s 200m T46 final, in an African record and personal best time of 25.55 seconds.

In another major moment at the Games, Paralympic legend Natalie du Toit bowed out last night on a high, when she powered through the field on the final lap of the 100m freestyle S9 final to win Silver.

Du Toit finished her final race in a time of 1:03:45 to end her career with 15 Paralympic medals over 3 Paralympics – 13 gold and two silver, three gold and a silver in her final Paralympic Games appearance.

Swimming legend Penny Heyns tweeted: “Well done @natsdutoit on a terrific swimming career!”

Du Toit took to Twitter after her race to say: “What an emotional day. Humbling,exciting and sad. My swimming career is over but the lessons learnt will never be forgotten”

Also last night, Ilse Hayes won gold in the long jump F13 wih a distance of 5.70m. It was Hayes’ second medal at the London Games, after bagging silver in the women’s 100m T13 final.

Shireen Sapiro is another woman athlete to medal at the Games. She set an African record to win bronze in the women’s 100m backstroke S10 Final, finishing in a time of 1:09.02.

SA Woman Medallists at the London 2012 Paralympic Games:
Ilse Hayes – Long Jump – F13
Natalie du Toit – 400m Freestyle – S9
Natalie du Toit – 100m Butterfly – S9
Natalie du Toit – 200m Ind. Medley – SM9
Ilse Hayes – 100m Track – T13
Anrune Liebenberg – 400m Track – T46
Natalie du Toit – 100m Freestyle – S9
Anrune Liebenberg – 200m Track – T46
Shireen Sapiro – 100m Backstroke – S10 Lisa Deetlefs


Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts