Interest from far and wide powered the public votes for the 2020 Momentum gsport Awards in a tightly contested battle across 20 categories. Public voting closed at midnight on Monday, 10 August, after a 10-day voting window which gave fans an opportunity to throw their support behind their favourite finalists.

The votes are currently being tallied and audited by independent auditors to ensure a free and fair process. The public votes make up 20-percent of the finalists’ overall mark, with the remaining 80-percent under the adjudication of the seven-member judging panel.

The addition of the African Woman in Sport and Global Woman in Sport categories not only drove the public interest locally, but also attracted a continental and global audience.

2020 Momentum gsport Awards ambassador, Zanele Mdodana, says the overwhelming response is an indication of the high calibre of the finalists.

“gsport has always been the platform that recognises the great work being done by women in sport, either on or off the sporting field,” she said.

“This year the support for women in sport has exceeded all expectations. We received hundreds of nominees from a diverse group of ground-breakers with new names and faces making their mark and showing the encouraging growth of gsport.

“The public voting was extraordinary, from the day it started until the voting hall was closed last night. All 20 categories are tightly contested and again, it shows how much talent there is out there to be exposed. These awards are extremely special, not even a pandemic could stop the celebration and acknowledgement of our Phenomenal Women in Sport. Our women are boldly owning their success as they should. “

Aside from the opportunity to win in each category, the individual who receives the most public votes but does not go on to win the main prize will win the Public Choice award.

The voting period was supported by a strong media drive and social media fanfare, giving all 56 finalists an opportunity to garner support and showcase their excellent achievements of the year.

The 15th edition of the longest-running women’s sport awards in South Africa will celebrate Rural, African and Global women’s sport success as the platform continues to grow its footprint worldwide.

The award winners will be announced on Monday, 31 August during a virtual awards presentation. Further details of the broadcast platforms will be announced in due course.

Momentum gsport Awards judging panel:

Janet Whitton – Deputy Sports Editor – SABC News
Marsha Cox – Former SA hockey captain and 2015 Special Recognition winner
Mary Papayya – South African National Editors Forum
Nthangeni Tshivhase – DSAC gsport coordinator and Director Facilities Management
Odessa Swarts – gsport Hall of Famer
Patience Shikwambana – SASCOC COO
Saray Khumalo – Ministerial Award winner and reigning gsport Woman of the Year