Proteas Lose T20 Series

by | Jan 21, 2013

Cricket SA logoThe West Indies consolidated their efforts to finish their tour against South Africa on a high when they took the Twenty20 (T20) series two-nil after beating the Proteas by six wickets in the last of the two-match series in St Lucia on Sunday night.

South Africa could only manage a meagre 94 runs after they were asked to bat first. The opening pair once again failed to lay a good foundation as Shandré Fritz (5) lost her wicket in the second over and her partner, Savannah Cordes failed once more to produce any runs at all. Both fell victim to the left-arm seamer, Shenal Daley.

Marizanne Kapp was run out for 11 at the hands of Anisa Mohammed in the sixth over and was followed by Cri-Zelda Brits who was stumped without scoring off Shaquana Quintyne. Captain, Mignon du Preez top scored with 26 runs before Daley struck one more time, returning figures of three wickets for 22 and leaving South Africa floundering on 60/5. Trisha Chetty added 22 runs from 31 balls before Shemaine Campbelle put an end to her innings, leaving Dané van Niekerk and Yolandi Potgieter to add 19 and 5 not out for the final score.

In reply, South Africa started out well with the early wicket of Juliana Nero, who was bowled by Kapp for a duck in the second ball of the innings. She followed up with the wicket of Kyshona Knight (12) in the sixth over, giving the Windies a brief scare on 18/2.

It did not last long, however as Natasha McLean (23) and Campbelle (33) shared a 50 partnership that would take the game away from the visitors. They reached their target for the loss of just four wickets.

Kapp finished her four over spell with an impressive 3/3, including two maiden overs.

South Africa return home on the 21st before they head out to India for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013.


The West Indies v South Africa T20 Series, in Gros Islet, St Lucia:
19 January: West Indies beat South Africa by 8 wickets
20 January: West Indies beat South Africa by 6 wickets


Shandré Fritz
Savannah Cordes (Debut)
Mignon du Preez
Marizanne Kapp
Cri-Zelda Brits
Trisha Chetty
Dané van Niekerk
Yolandi van Niekerk
Marsha Letsoalo
Danisha Devnarain
Chloe Tryon
West Indies:
Juliana Nero
Natasha McLean
Kyshona Knight
Shemaine Campbelle
Deandra Dottin
Shanel Daley
Merissa Aguilleira (Captain, wicketkeeper)
Shakera Selman
Shaquana Quintyne
Subrina Munroe
Anisa Mohammed


Share this article:

About the Author:

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts

SWD Promoted to Women’s Super League
SWD Promoted to Women’s Super League

Six Gun Grill South Western Districts team beat Free State in the final of Cricket SA’s Women’s Inter-Provincial competition at Imperial Wanderers, for promotion to the CSA Women’s Super League for the next season. #GoGirls