SA Women On Top of the World

by | Jan 25, 2007

The South African Women’s cricket team are feeling on top of the world after completing their hat-trick of wins to take the five-match one-day series against Pakistan in fine fashion at Sinovich Park, Pretoria, on Wednesday.

Marcia Letsoalo, the right-arm speedster, and stand-in captain, Cri Zelda Brits, led the assault on the visitors with Letsoala snatching three crucial wickets and Brits scoring her second half-century of the series as Pakistan crashed to 156/9 in their 50 overs.

Letsoalo bowled Tasqeen Qadeer in the 13th over for 13 runs, dismissed Nain Abidi for two runs in the 25th over and then claimed her final casual, Sana Javed, with her second delivery in the 31st over for 32 runs.

Javed, however, continued to carry the torch for Pakistan in the series as she scored a classy 32 runs off 59 balls while Sajjida Shah contributed a notable 36 but the South African bowlers proved to be too strong for the visitors.

In response to Pakistan’s total, South Africa scored a cool 160/4 with 14 overs to spare.

Brits, who has been a real pleasure to watch, continued to dazzle by scoring a mature and well deserved 57 runs before being spun out by captain Urooj Mumtaz in the 26th over.

Running at five to the over, the unbeaten fifth wicket partnership (52*) of Trisha Chetty and Susan Benade steam-rolled South Africa to a six-wicket triumph.

Chetty finished on 33* and Benade was on 30* when the winning runs were scored.

With a comfortable series win, South Africa can now take the positives and apply them in the World Cup qualifiers which take place in Pakistan in November this year.

The final two matches of the five-match series will take place tomorrow (26 January) and Sunday (28 January) at Sinovich Park, Pretoria.

Herewith below are the teams for tomorrow’s match:

Match Officials & Match Times: Friday, 26 January 2007
Match Manager: Cyril Mitchley
Match Referee: Dave Richardson
Standing Umpire: Brad White and Walter Liebisch 
Third Umpire: Adri Crafford
Match Times:
First Session: 10h00 – 13h10                                
Interval: 13h10 – 13h55                                
Second Session: 13h55 – 17h05

1. Susan Benade (Free State)
2. Kirsten Blair (Gauteng)
3. Cri-Zelda Britz (Captain, North West)
4. Trisha Chetty (Kwa-Zulu Natal)
5. Mignon du Preez (Northerns)
6. Ashlyn Kilowan (Western Province)
7. Marcia Letsoalo (Northerns)
8. Johmari Logtenberg (Vice-Captain, Kwa-Zulu Natal)
9. Sunette Loubser (Boland)
10. Annelie Minny (Free State)
11. Shabnin Isnail (Western Province)
12. Claire Terblanche (Western Province)
13. Daleen Terblanche (Gauteng)

Manager: Zola Thamae
Coach: Noor Rhoda
Assistant Coach: Kim Price
1. Urooj Mumtaz (Captain)
2. Tasqeen Qadeer
3. Sana Javed
4. Asmavia Iqbal
5. Maryam Butt
6. Sana Mir
7. Sajida Shah
8. Sabahat Rasheed
9. Batool Fatima
10. Qanita Jalil
11. Sumaiya Siddiqui
12. Arman Khan
13. Nain Abidi
14. Bismah Maroof

Manager: Mahjabeen Shafqat
Coach: Umer Rashid
Trainer: Tariq Siddiqui
Physiotherapist: Nadja Bendig

Share this article:

About the Author:

<a href="" target="_self">gsport Newsroom</a>

gsport Newsroom

Launched in 2006, gsport exists to enhance the commercial prospects of our women athletes, and other women in sport, by telling the inspiring story of SA women in sport. Thank you for your contribution!


Submit a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments


Related Posts