Spain Makes History Winning First-Ever FIFA WWC Title 

Photo 1 Caption: Spain players celebrating their first-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup title victory on Sunday, 20 August 2023. Photo:

In a historic match at Stadium Australia, Spain emerged victorious, defeating England 1-0 to win their first-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup title on Sunday, 20 August 2023.

From the first whistle, both teams displayed a strong desire to take control of the game. Although Spain enjoyed the majority of possession, England remained resolute in defence, making crucial interventions to thwart the Spanish attacks. The high-quality passing from the Spanish side was evident, but England managed to nullify their threats with their defensive solidity.

In the 16th minute, England came agonisingly close to taking the lead. Rachel Daly played a sublime pass to Lauren Hemp, who unleashed a curling shot from the right side of the box. Unfortunately, the shot struck the crossbar, denying England an early advantage. Just a minute later, Spain launched a swift counter-attack, with Salma Paralluelo crossing the ball to Teresa Abelleira, who had the opportunity to score. However, England goalkeeper Mary Earps produced a stunning save to keep her team level.

The breakthrough came in the 28th minute when Olga Carmona found the back of the net for Spain. Mariona Caldentey initiated the move from the halfway line, finding Carmona on the left side. Carmona showed great composure to send a low shot into the far post, sending the Spanish fans into raptures. 

Spain’s dominance in the match was duly rewarded with the opening goal, leaving England with an uphill battle to equalise.

The second half saw England make tactical substitutions, introducing Chloe Kelly and Lauren James for Rachel Daly and Alessia Russo. These changes aimed to inject more attacking threat into the English lineup. However, Spain remained resolute, defending their lead diligently.

Both teams had their chances in the second half. Caldentey tested Earps with a curling effort, forcing the England goalkeeper into a full-stretch save. England also had opportunities to level the score, with Kelly delivering a cross that found Hemp in the box, but she failed to hit the target.

A pivotal moment in the match came in the 59th minute when Spain was awarded a penalty. Jennifer Hermoso stepped up to take the spot-kick but was denied by Earps, who pulled off a magnificent save to keep England’s hopes alive. The miss from Hermoso rejuvenated the Lionesses, and they pushed harder in the final 20 minutes in search of an equaliser.

With tensions rising and time running out, the match became more intense. Salma Paralluelo received a yellow card for a foul on Alex Greenwood, while substitutions were made by both teams to inject fresh legs. The final minutes of the match saw Spain pressing for a second goal to secure their victory, but England’s defence held firm.

13 minutes of additional time were added due to stoppages, creating a nervy finish to the match. Spain continued to create chances, but Mary Earps was once again called into action, denying Ona Battle with a fantastic save.

At the final whistle, the Spanish players erupted in celebration as they clinched the title of World Cup champions. It was a hard-fought victory that showcased Spain’s excellent passing and defensive resolve.

Spain’s triumph in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is a remarkable achievement for their national team, marking a milestone in the history of Spanish women’s football. 

England, although falling short in the final, can be proud of their performances throughout the tournament. Both teams put on an impressive display, demonstrating their passion and skill on the grandest stage in women’s football.

Photo Caption: Spain players celebrating their first-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup title victory on Sunday, 20 August 2023. Photo:

Please Rate this Post

0 ratings, 0 votes0 ratings, 0 votes (0 rating, 0 votes, rated)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Recent Posts


Follow Us